Cohen announces new Finance Division

St. Paul, Minn.—Senate Finance Committee Chairman Sen. Dick Cohen (DFL-St. Paul) has announced two Finance Committee Division changes for the 2016 legislative session which begins on March 8, 2016.

Under the new structure Sen. John Marty (DFL-Roseville) will chair the Environment and Energy Budget Division with jurisdiction over financial accounts for: Pollution Control Agency, Environmental Quality Board, Board of Water and Soil Resources, Public Utilities Commission, and three Department of Commerce accounts: Petroleum Tank Release Compensation Board, Energy Resources, and Petrofund. This division and committee organization will mirror the committees of Education, Transportation and Public Safety, Judiciary, and Higher Education and Workforce Development, where the chair oversees two committees: a finance division and a policy committee.

The finance division chaired by Sen. David Tomassoni (DFL-Chisholm) will now be called the Natural Resources, Economic Development, and Agricultural Budget Division and maintain financial account jurisdiction of the Department of Natural Resources accounts, economic development related accounts, and agriculture related accounts.

“These Finance Division changes for 2016 reflect the goal of aligning accounts more efficiently with House organization as well as increasing opportunities for the public to access the committee process relating to these accounts and departments,” Cohen said.

Senator Richard Cohen
Richard Cohen represents District 64, which includes portions of the city of Saint Paul in Ramsey County.

Read more news from Sen. Cohen.
Senator Richard Cohen on EmailSenator Richard Cohen on Flickr