Ending Partisan Gerrymandering in Minnesota

Constitutional amendment would put redistricting into the hands of a nonpartisan body

St. Paul, Minn. – Minnesota’s redistricting process would be completed by a nonpartisan commission if voters approve a constitutional amendment introduced by Senator Jason Isaacson (DFL-Shoreview). The bill, SF 2233, would ensure a fair process in drawing balanced congressional and legislative districts following the 2020 census.

“Minnesotans are tired of politicians using their power to gerrymander districts that tilt overwhelmingly to one side or another of the political aisle, which only guarantees further extremism in our politics,” said Senator Isaacson. “Voters should have the opportunity to take this work out of the hands of partisan politicians and use a process that’s better for the civic health and democracy of our state. A constitutional amendment is the only true solution to ending partisan gerrymandering.”

If passed, the amendment would establish a nonpartisan redistricting commission to draw the boundaries of congressional and legislative districts following the 2020 census. The commission would consist of five retired judges: four judges to be chosen by the four legislative leaders, with the fifth being selected by a vote of the four selected judges. This judge would serve as chair of the commission.

About Senator Jason Isaacson

Jason Isaacson is a state senator who represents Shoreview, Vadnais Heights, Mounds View, Roseville, Little Canada, Arden Hills, Gem Lake, and a portion of Spring Lake Park. He is a member of the following committees: Jobs and Economic Growth Finance and Policy; Higher Education Finance and Policy: Human Services Reform Finance and Policy: and Agriculture, Rural Development, and Housing Policy. A high-resolution photo of Sen. Isaacson is available for download here.


Senator Jason Isaacson
Jason Isaacson represents Senate District 42 which includes Arden Hills, Gem Lake, Little Canada, Mounds View, Shoreview, Vadnais Heights, and parts of Roseville, Spring Lake Park, and Blaine.

Learn more about Sen. Isaacson.

Read more news from Sen. Isaacson.
Senator Jason Isaacson on FlickrSenator Jason Isaacson on Twitter