Senator Jeff Hayden Awarded ‘Legislator of the Year’ by MARRCH

Assistant DFL Leader Jeff Hayden was recognized as ‘Legislator of the Year’ by the Minnesota Association of Resources for Recovery and Chemical Health (MARRCH) at their 2020 Framing the Future virtual annual conference. “Minnesotans impacted by chemical dependency should have access to the resources and treatment they need on their path to recovery. With communities of color… Read More

Senate DFL responds to Senate Republican committee hearings on the civil unrest that occurred in Minnesota

Senate Republicans held a joint Transportation and Judiciary and Public Safety Committee hearing to review their one-sided Review of Lawlessness and Government Responses to Minnesota’s 2020 Riots report based on the hearings they held over the summer. Senator Ron Latz (DFL-Saint Louis Park), Senate DFL lead on the Judiciary and Public Safety Committee, and Senator Scott Dibble… Read More

Senate DFL Leader Susan Kent Responds to Lack of Republican COVID-19 Safety Response

Today, after Senate and House Republicans proposed allowing all schools, places of worship, restaurants, and large venues to open with no COVID-19 safety requirements, Senator Susan Kent released the following statement: “The fastest and most effective way we can continue reopening our schools and economy is by following social distancing and mask guidelines correctly and… Read More

Senator Sparks Statement on Positive COVID-19 Test

After experiencing flu-like symptoms, Senator Dan Sparks (DFL-Austin) tested positive for COVID-19 and entered a two-week quarantine. Senator Sparks released the following statement: “The week of October 5, I began to feel unwell and experience flu-like symptoms, leading to my decision to voluntarily quarantine. After consulting with my doctor, I was tested for COVID-19 on… Read More

Senator Rest elected President of the Streamline Sales Tax Governing Board

Senator Ann Rest (DFL-New Hope), the Senate DFL lead on the Taxes Committee, has been elected President of the Streamlined Sales Tax Governing Board. She will take office on January 21, 2021. “I have been a member of the executive committee, and it’s my honor to serve in this new position,” said Sen. Rest. “In 2001,… Read More

Sen. Chris Eaton supports 2020 Capital Investment and Jobs Legislation

Senator Chris Eaton (DFL-Brooklyn Center) voted for the $1.37 billion Capital Investment Bill on Oct. 15 that provides critical funding to move Minnesota’s economy forward by putting more people to work, making critical investments housing, higher education, and transit. The bonding bill passed this week will finance more than $1.87 billion in statewide public projects, once other… Read More

Senator Sparks and Minnesota Senate Deliver on Major Jobs Bill

The Minnesota Senate passed a $1.37 billion bonding bill as part of a total $1.87 billion economic development package investing in shovel-ready public works projects throughout the state Thursday, including more than $12 million in funding for local projects. Senator Dan Sparks (DFL-Austin) voted YES on the package, which passed 64-3 with strong support from… Read More

Senator Carlson Votes Yes on Jobs and Economic Stimulus Package

The Minnesota Senate passed a $1.87 billion economic development package Thursday that included bonding for public assets and infrastructure, supplemental budget provisions, and several changes to state tax policy. “With such low interest rates this bonding bill is an unprecedented opportunity to invest in projects throughout our state that will create jobs right now, especially… Read More

Senator Cwodzinski Votes Yes for Economic Development, Local Jobs and Public Safety

The Minnesota Senate passed a $1.87 billion economic development package that will create jobs, invest in critical state infrastructure, and help Minnesota recover from the effects of the COVID-19 pandemic. The legislation invests $1.879 billion toward public assets such as higher education institutions, clean water infrastructure, roads and bridges, parks, trails, and public safety. “It… Read More

Picture of Senator Karla Bigham

Senator Bigham Votes Yes for Economic Stimulus Package

The Minnesota Senate passed a $1.87 billion economic stimulus bill Thursday, by a 64-3 margin, providing investment to public assets and critical statewide infrastructure needs. In addition to these investments, the package addresses federal tax conformity on Section 179 and restores critical funding for the Department of Corrections.  “The bonding bill is an economic stimulus… Read More