Pappas named Chair of State and Local Government Committee

ST. PAUL, Minn.–This week Senate Majority Leader-designate Tom Bakk, DFL-Cook, announced the Minnesota Senate committee structure and standing committee meeting schedule for the 2013-2014 Legislative Session. Senate President-designate Sandy Pappas, DFL-St. Paul, was named the chair of the State and Local Government Committee in addition to previously being elected to serve as President of the Senate for upcoming biennium.

“I am very pleased with my new Senate leadership position as well as my committee chair assignment,” said Sen. Pappas. “It’s a privilege and an honor to be chosen by my caucus members to serve the people of Minnesota in this capacity, and I look forward to the upcoming legislative session.”

The State and Local Government Committee has jurisdiction over all legislation relating to the powers of local and metropolitan governments, as well as state commissions and boards. The committee will meet in Room 123 of the State Capitol on Mondays and Wednesdays from 3:00 to 5:30 p.m. The President of the Senate serves as the presiding officer during senate floor sessions. Sen. Pappas was elected to this position by her fellow DFL caucus members on Nov. 8.

“I look forward to working with Sen. Pappas as part of our new Senate leadership team,” said Sen. Bakk. “Sen. Pappas has past experience as the Senate President Pro Tempore, and I’m confident that she will be a fair and sensible presiding officer for the Senate.”

The 2013 Legislative Session will convene at noon Tuesday, Jan. 8, at which time the new Senate Majority Caucus leaders and committee chairs will officially assume office.


Senator Sandy Pappas
Sandy Pappas represents District 65, which includes portions of Saint Paul in Ramsey County in the Twin Cities metropolitan area.

Learn more about Sen. Pappas.

Read more news from Sen. Pappas.
Senator Sandy Pappas on EmailSenator Sandy Pappas on FacebookSenator Sandy Pappas on FlickrSenator Sandy Pappas on Twitter