Sen. Rest appointed to Capitol Area Architectural & Planning Board

Senator Ann H. Rest (DFL-New Hope) was recently appointed to the Capitol Area Architectural & Planning Board (CAAPB) by Governor Mark Dayton. As a member of the CAAPB, Sen. Rest will work to preserve and enhance the dignity, beauty and architectural integrity of the Capitol and surrounding area. The CAAPB is comprised of twelve members […] Read more

Dayton’s budget offers first step in negotiations

Earlier this week, Governor Dayton released his budget and outlined his plans to balance Minnesota’s $6.2 billion deficit. He offered proposals on making cuts, streamlining services, investing in priority areas, and bringing in revenue. Now that he has provided his ideas for a complete and balanced budget, the Republican majorities have the opportunity to offer […] Read more

Dayton budget will protect our cities, property tax payers

The main goal of this year’s legislature is to create Minnesota’s operating budget for 2012-2013, which begins July 1 of this year. The first step of that process began this week when Governor Mark Dayton released his initial budget proposal. In the coming weeks, we will be asked to compare this plan to the Senate […] Read more

Governor’s budget will protect property tax payers

This year’s legislature has one main goal: to create Minnesota’s budget for the 2012-2013 period, which begins July 1 of this year. The first step in that process begins with the Governor’s initial budget proposal, which then will be compared to the alternate budget plans presented by the House and Senate. This week, Governor Mark […] Read more

Sieben bill funds South St. Paul floodwall

State Sen. Katie Sieben, DFL-Cottage Grove, has introduced legislation to replace the South St. Paul floodwall. Her bill, S.F. 221, is co-authored with State Sen. Jim Metzen and authored in the House by Rep. Rick Hansen. It provides $2 million in bonds to demolish the old wall and pumping station and construct a new facility. […] Read more

Senator Reinert Congratulates New Regent Nominee Dave McMillan

On Wednesday night, during a joint meeting of the House and Senate Higher Education committees, Duluthian Dave McMillan was nominated to be the next University of Minnesota Regent representing the 8th Congressional District. Dave McMillan is the Executive Vice President of Minnesota Power and Sr. Vice President of Marketing, Regulatory, Legislative and Public Affairs and […] Read more