Sen. Rest appointed to Capitol Area Architectural & Planning Board

Senator Ann H. Rest (DFL-New Hope) was recently appointed to the Capitol Area Architectural & Planning Board (CAAPB) by Governor Mark Dayton. As a member of the CAAPB, Sen. Rest will work to preserve and enhance the dignity, beauty and architectural integrity of the Capitol and surrounding area. The CAAPB is comprised of twelve members and is chaired by Lieutenant Governor Yvonne Prettner Solon.

“Our Capitol entertains visitors every day, Minnesotans visit their legislators and governor or stop by to learn about the history of their great state,” said Sen. Rest. “As the building grows older, we need to continue to update technology and keep up maintenance. There has to be a careful approach to those changes to ensure its beauty and historical integrity remains for years to come.”

Driven by her love for the Capitol and what the historical building represents, Sen. Rest has served on the CAAPB over the past eight years as a Senate President appointment. She is pleased to receive the opportunity to serve the next four years as Gov. Dayton’s selection.

“The Capitol is in dire need of restoration and security improvements,” said Sen. Rest. “I have been campaigning for improvements for several years. I am pleased to receive the governor’s appointment so I can continue to advocate for the improvements the Capitol needs and deserves.”

Beyond the Capitol itself, the CAAPB is also asked to develop proper approaches to the Capitol area for pedestrian movement, the highway system and mass transit system so that the area achieves its maximum importance and accessibility. One project that will have a large impact on the Capitol and surrounding area is the Central Corridor Light Rail System, which is designed to pass through the Capitol Complex. The CAAPB will work to ensure that any changes made will align with the spirit of the Capitol’s original design.

For more information on the CAAPB, visit For more information about Senator Rest or her legislative activities, please contact her via email at or by calling her office at (651) 296-2889.


Senator Ann Rest
Ann Rest represents District 45, which includes portions of the western suburbs of Hennepin County in the Twin Cities metro area.

Learn more about Sen. Rest.

Read more news from Sen. Rest.
Senator Ann Rest on EmailSenator Ann Rest on FacebookSenator Ann Rest on FlickrSenator Ann Rest on Twitter