Senator Dan Sparks Congratulates Minnesota Biofuel Producers on Reaching New Milestones

St. Paul, Minn. – Federal and state officials today joined the Minnesota Corn Growers Association, American Lung Association in Minnesota, and other renewable fuel advocates to celebrate the opening of more than 400 E85 stations in Minnesota, and the 300th station selling 88 octane fuel in the state.

Today’s event highlighted the successful completion of the Biofuels Infrastructure Partnership (BIP), a national public-private effort to make cleaner-burning ethanol fuels available to more American motorists. Through BIP, the U.S. Department of Agriculture awarded Minnesota $8 million for ethanol infrastructure development. The federal grant funding was matched by more than $3.5 million in state funds, $2.5 million in private funds, and an investment of more than $9.7 million from fuel station owners. A total of 137 locations across Minnesota received funding under this effort.

“I am pleased to congratulate Minnesota’s biofuel producers on their continued success and economic contributions to our state,” said Senator Dan Sparks (DFL-Austin). “Through cooperation and collaboration among many different stakeholders, Minnesota has grown to the fourth-largest ethanol producer in the United States. This has delivered tremendous dividends to southern Minnesota in the form of economic growth and reliable income for family farmers.”

Minnesota has more E85 stations than any other state, and the state has also been a leader in the growth of the new 88 octane gasoline (also known as E15). E85 is a high-ethanol fuel blend that can be used interchangeably with gasoline in flex fuel vehicles. There are more than 350,000 flex fuel vehicles in Minnesota. The 88 octane gasoline is a 15 percent ethanol blend, which has been approved for use by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency for any 2001 and newer on-road gasoline light-duty vehicle. Minnesota’s regular 87 octane gasoline has been a 10 percent ethanol blend for more than 20 years.

Senator Dan Sparks
Dan Sparks represents District 27, which includes all or portions of Dodge, Faribault, Freeborn, Mower, and Steele counties in the southeastern part of the state.

Read more news from Sen. Sparks.
Senator Dan Sparks on EmailSenator Dan Sparks on FacebookSenator Dan Sparks on Flickr