Senator Rest honored by MN Retailers Association

ST. PAUL, Minn. – Honoring her dedication to e-fairness legislation as Chair of the Tax Reform Division this year, the Minnesota Retailers Association awarded Senator Ann Rest (DFL-New Hope) the 2013 E-Fairness Champion Award. The Minnesota Retailers Association works with legislators to promote, preserve and enhance the state’s essential retail industry through public policy development. Sen. Rest received the award during the Association’s 15th Annual Legislative Wrap-up Program on June 4.
“I am honored to receive this award,” said Sen. Rest. “The tax bill passed this year makes major reforms which legislators have been trying to enact for decades. Part of that reform was providing an equitable solution to the collection of sales tax between online sellers and Minnesota retailers.”
In Minnesota, “brick and mortar” retailers are required to collect and remit state and local sales tax from consumers on their purchases. Electronic retail competitors are not required to collect the same taxes. “This year, we closed a decades-old loophole in our tax system helping our Main Street businesses better compete in the 21st century marketplace,” Sen. Rest continued.
“We recognize Senator Rest’s leadership in a multi-year effort to educate legislators and Minnesotans about the need to modernize our sales tax system when it comes to treating all sales equally,” said Bruce Nustad, president of the MN Retailers Association. “For her distinctive leadership on e-fairness, retailers across Minnesota say ‘Thank you!’.”
Governor Mark Dayton signed Sen. Rest’s e-fairness legislation into law as part of the Omnibus Tax Bill this year.

Senator Ann Rest
Ann Rest represents District 45, which includes portions of the western suburbs of Hennepin County in the Twin Cities metro area.

Learn more about Sen. Rest.

Read more news from Sen. Rest.
Senator Ann Rest on EmailSenator Ann Rest on FacebookSenator Ann Rest on FlickrSenator Ann Rest on Twitter