Senator Rest Receives a 10th Anniversary Accessibility Legislation Award

ST. PAUL, Minn – Senator Ann Rest (DFL-New Hope) received an award in celebration of the 10th anniversary of legislation requiring the executive branch to develop and comply with an accessibility standard. Senator Rest was given this honor of recognition along with Senator Torrey Westrom and former Representative Bill Hilty.

“I am honored to receive this award for authoring legislation ten years ago that changed Minnesota technology standards for the accessible community” said Sen. Ann Rest. “I wanted the technology used in our state to be accessible to all citizens and I’m happy to celebrate that those standards are still in place after all these years.”

In 2009, Senator Rest authored legislation to create technology accessibility and usability standards for the state of Minnesota. The legislation modified certain provisions relating to accessibility standards and established standards applicable to technology, software and hardware procurement.

Senator Ann Rest with her 10th Anniversary Accessibility Legislation Award.

Senator Ann Rest
Ann Rest represents District 45, which includes portions of the western suburbs of Hennepin County in the Twin Cities metro area.

Learn more about Sen. Rest.

Read more news from Sen. Rest.
Senator Ann Rest on EmailSenator Ann Rest on FacebookSenator Ann Rest on FlickrSenator Ann Rest on Twitter