State Senate Approves Disaster Relief Funding for 18 counties including Swift

ST. PAUL, MINN – Senator Lyle Koenen (DFL-Clara City) is happy to announce that $4.5 million in disaster relief has been re-appropriated to help provide assistance for more than a dozen central and southern Minnesota counties including Swift County.

In June of 2013 Swift County experienced severe storms with highly damaging winds that resulted in $917,625 in damages. The money appropriated on Monday will help offset the costs from that violent storm.

Senator Koenen explains the need for Monday’s special session:

“The money actually comes from previous money that was appropriated for disasters in last year’s special session. So there’s no new money that is being used for this, just money that was unused from previous disasters. So what we have to do by law is, the legislature has to re-appropriate that money and that’s what’s happening today.”

A bill was introduced Monday that would make appropriating disaster relief an easier process that will not necessarily require a special session.


Senator Lyle Koenen
Lyle Koenen represents District 17, which includes portions of Chippewa, Kandiyohi, Renville, and Swift counties in the southwestern part of the state. He is the vice chair of the Tax Reform Division.

Learn more about Sen. Koenen.

Read more news from Sen. Koenen.
Senator Lyle Koenen on EmailSenator Lyle Koenen on Flickr