State Senate Approves Disaster Relief Spending for 18 counties including Hennepin

ST. PAUL, MINN. – Senator John Hoffman representing Champlin, Coon Rapids and Brooklyn Park, announced that $4.5 million in disaster relief has been re-appropriated to help provide assistance to more than a dozen central and southern Minnesota counties, including Hennepin County.

“I’m happy the DFL and Republicans could come together to help provide some relief to hard-hit counties throughout the state. This action will also cause $13.5 million in federal aid to be released to these counties,” Senator Hoffman said. Hennepin County sustained close to $4.6 million in damages from storms that rolled through the region in June of 2013.

As part of the State Senate’s ‘paying as we go’ motto – the money appropriated on Monday in a special legislative session is being re-allocated from last session’s disaster relief bill.

Monday’s special session is the sixth session of its kind since 1997 and will cost taxpayers an estimated $33,000. In order to avoid future special sessions where members are only voting on allocating disaster relief funds, Senator Hoffman is co-authoring a bill to take up the Office of the Legislative Auditor’s recommendations to establish a dedicated account and criteria for its use, to fund initial recovery costs.

The recommendations include creating a permanent fund that state officials can draw from whenever the state needs to match federal disaster relief funds. If implemented, these changes could reduce the need for costly disaster-related special sessions in the future, therefore helping save taxpayer dollars.


Senator John Hoffman
John Hoffman represents District 36, which includes portions of Anoka and Hennepin County.

Learn more about Sen. Hoffman.

Read more news from Sen. Hoffman.
Senator John Hoffman on EmailSenator John Hoffman on FacebookSenator John Hoffman on FlickrSenator John Hoffman on Twitter