Sen. Patricia Torres Ray, Rep. Jean Wagenius & Rep. Jim Davnie Host Town Hall on Gun Violence Prevention


ST. PAUL, MN – Sen. Patricia Torres Ray (DFL-Minneapolis) is hosting joint Town Hall Meeting with Representatives Jean Wagenius (DFL-Minneapolis) and Jim Davnie (DFL-Minnesota) to discuss gun violence prevention. The meetings will allow Senate District 63 residents an opportunity to join the conversation about current gun safety efforts at the Legislature.

The legislators will be joined by community leaders representing Survivors Lead, Protec MN, Everytown for Gun Safety, and Students Demand Action. There will also be a brief presentation on the history of the 2nd Amendment in the United States. Time will be allotted to take questions from members of the community.

The Town Hall Meeting on Gun Violence Prevention will be held on Tuesday, May 1. With details as follows:

Tuesday, May 1, 2018

6:30 pm – 8:00 pm

Communications Workers of America Hall

3521 East Lake Street, Minneapolis, MN 55406

To those who are unable to attend, but are interested in contacting their legislators, Sen. Torres Ray can be reached at, or by calling her office at (651) 296-4274. Rep. Wagenius can be reached at or (651) 296-4200. Rep. Davnie e can be reached at  or 651-296-0173.

Hayden, Latz and Schoen join gun violence prevention advocates to honor Taylor Hayden, highlight legislation

St. Paul, Minn.—Deputy Caucus Leader Sen. Jeff Hayden (DFL-Minneapolis), Sen. Ron Latz (DFL-St. Louis Park), and Sen. Dan Schoen (DFL-St. Paul Park) will join respected gun violence prevention advocates on February 23, 2017 to unveil legislation to help reduce gun violence in Minnesota. February 23 is an important day for Sen. Hayden and his family. The day would have been his younger sister Taylor Hayden’s 26th birthday. Tragically, Taylor Hayden died as a result of gun violence last year while on a vacation with friends.

Who: Sen. Jeff Hayden (DFL-Minneapolis), Sen. Ron Latz (DFL-St. Louis Park), Sen. Dan Schoen (DFL-St. Paul Park), Joyce Hayden, Minneapolis Chief of Police Janae Harteau, Rep. Fue Lee (DFL-Minneapolis), Dr. Rhamy Magid, Hennepin County Attorney Mike Freeman, Rep. Dave Pinto (DFL-St. Paul), Maplewood Chief of Police Paul Schnell, Gun Violence Survivor Tim Nelson, Saint Paul Chief of Police Todd Axtel, and Everytown Spokesperson and Gun Violence Survivor Lucy McBath

What: Gun Violence Prevention legislation unveiling

Where: Minnesota State Capitol press conference room B971

When: 10 a.m.-11 a.m. Thursday February 23, 2017