A Look Back in the History of Women in the Minnesota Senate

1922: On the heels of the passage of the 19th Amendment, women are for the first time eligible to run for election in the Minnesota Legislature


1927: Laura Naplin becomes the first woman elected to the Minnesota Senate. She left the legislature in 1930.


1975: After 35 years of no bereft of women, Nancy Braatas becomes the second woman elected to the Minnesota Senate


1983: Senator Linda Berglin becomes the first woman to chair a Senate committee


2006: A record-breaking amount of 27 women are elected to the State Senate. 24 women currently serve in the Minnesota Senate


Looking ahead: (watch) Empowering women in Minnesota


Senate DFL Media