Bipartisan Group of Senators Release Statements on Passage of Emergency Medical Services Legislation

ST. PAUL, Minn. — On Saturday, May 18th, the Minnesota Senate Passed House File 4738 – legislation authored by Senator Judy Seeberger (DFL-Afton), and worked on in collaboration with Senator Grant Hauschild (DFL-Hermantown)Senator Jordan Rasmusson (R-Fergus Falls), and Senator Andrew Lang (R-Olivia).

The bill contains the following provisions, which resulted from last year’s public field hearings of the Emergency Medical Services Task Force:

  • Creates Minnesota’s new Office of Emergency Medical Services to replace the Emergency Medical Services Regulatory Board
  • Allocates $6 million in funding for a “Sprint Medic” Pilot Program in Otter Tail County and St. Louis County
  • Appropriates an additional $24 million in one-time aid for EMS providers in the state who have been struggling financially
  • Allows for easier, more streamlined recertification for some EMS personnel

After the bill’s unanimous passage in the Senate, legislators released the following statements:

“This bill is a great example of solid bipartisan legislation. Our new Office of Emergency Medical Services will create more public accountability, amplify the voices of our hardworking EMS personnel and first responders, and build a foundation for ensuring sustainable EMS in Greater Minnesota,” said Senator Seeberger. “I want to sincerely thank the members of the EMS Task Force for their hard work and innovative solutions, and I look forward to continued collaboration on these issues.”

“Our EMS network is facing a dire financial situation throughout the state, threatening the ability of Minnesotans to get the urgent care they need. It truly is a life or death situation for thousands of people especially in Greater Minnesota,” said Senator Hauschild. “This emergency aid is urgently needed to provide an immediate lifeline that will help stabilize EMS and ensure people in communities like the ones I represent and throughout Minnesota continue to get the care they need.”

“Access to emergency medical services is crucial for Greater Minnesota, but providing these services in our rural areas is much more challenging,” Senator Rasmusson said. “With the approval of this $30 million EMS aid package, we are extending a lifeline for this critical service. This funding proposal is transparent and prioritizes rural communities that need the most help. I appreciate the collaborative nature of this legislation and the opportunity to work on this issue in a bipartisan manner.”

“As an employee of an emergency medical service, I’ve seen first-hand the way this crisis has evolved over the last few years,” Senator Lang said. “The challenges we’re facing in rural Minnesota have gone unaddressed for far too long leaving our services with outdated equipment and an inability to recruit and retain trained professionals. The bipartisan aid package will ensure that when an ambulance is called, Minnesotans are getting the emergency care they need no matter their zip code.” 

House File 4738 will now be sent to the House for repassage in the coming days.

Senator Judy Seeberger represents Senate District 41 which includes Afton, Cottage Grove, Hastings, and Lake Elmo. She is vice chair of the Commerce and Consumer Protection Committee, and serves on the Agriculture, Broadband, and Rural Development Committee as well as the Judiciary and Public Safety Committee.

Learn more about Sen. Seeberger.
Senator Judy Seeberger on EmailSenator Judy Seeberger on Twitter
Senator Grant Hauschild represents Senate District 3 – the Arrowhead, Iron Range, and Northland. He is vice chair of the Labor Committee, and serves on the Education Policy Committee, Environment, Climate, and Legacy Committee, and Taxes Committee.

Learn more about Sen. Hauschild.
Senator Grant Hauschild on EmailSenator Grant Hauschild on InstagramSenator Grant Hauschild on Twitter