Joint House-Senate Higher Education Committees recommend Regents candidates

The House-Senate Higher Education Committees met in joint session this week to recommend candidates for the four open seats to the University of Minnesota Board of Regents. Four of the twelve seats on Board of Regents are open for appointment every two years, each representing a six-year term. Only 4 congressional districts seats are up for re-election this year, no at-large seats. Only one incumbent regent is running to be re-elected.

All candidates under consideration had been recommended by the Regent Candidate Advisory Council (RCAC), which interviewed all applicants and in January recommended 12 candidates be forwarded for further consideration. One candidate withdrew and three other candidates were dropped from consideration by the joint committees this week.

The recommended candidates will now be considered for election by the full House and Senate. No date has been set for the joint meeting. Other candidates who were not recommended, considered or who had not applied may be nominated during the full legislative meeting. No additional candidates were nominated at the meeting of the two committees.

Candidates recommended to the floor:

CD1: Aarsvold; Ruth Johnson

CD4: Daryl Brandon Alkire; Karen Schanfield

CD6: Michael Hsu (Incumbent); Kodi Verhalen

CD7: Doug Huebsch; Michael Yost