Joint Senate/House Higher Education committees approve Regent Slate

  • by

Members of the joint House and Senate Higher Education Committees on Tuesday approved four candidates to forward to the full House and Senate for a vote to fill four expiring terms on the University of Minnesota Board of Regents.

There were 35 applications for the four vacancies on the board in Congressional Districts 2, 3, and 8, and one at-large position. Of those 35, 17 were selected for interviews by the Regent Candidate Advisory Council (RCAC) in December. In January, the RCAC members recommended the following for potential appointment:

Second Congressional District: (No incumbent)

  • Ian Benson-Rosemount
  • Jim Carter-Hastings
  • Sandra Krebsbach-Mendota Heights
  • (Incumbent Tom Devine now lives in the Third.)

Third Congressional District:

  • Walt Erickson-Wayzata
  • Tom Devine-Chanhassen (current Second CD incumbent)
  • Darrin Rosha-Independence (incumbent)
  • Tammy Lee Stanoch-Minnetonka

Eighth Congressional District:

  • David McMillan-Duluth (incumbent)
  • Curt Teberg-Cloquet*
  • (Teberg was added to the list in late December by the RCAC when McMillan went unopposed.)

At Large: (No incumbent; Laura Brod did not re-apply)

  • Tom Devine-Chanhassen (added to the at-large list by motion and vote)
  • Ken Powell-Golden Valley
  • Kent Molde-Eden Prairie
  • John Regal-Oak Park Heights

At the joint hearing on Tuesday, House and Senate members heard statements by each candidate and asked questions of each of them. Three new candidates were nominated at the joint meeting: former legislator, House Speaker, and Regent Steve Sviggum (CD 2); former legislative candidate and activist Becky Hall (CD 8) and Tammy Lee Stanoch (CD 3 candidate). Neither Sviggum nor Hall had applied earlier or been screened by the RCAC.

Members questioned the transparency of the process and that the new candidates came forward so late in the process. (Curtis Teberg, CD 8 candidate, missed the meeting and was not considered for appointment).

The following candidates were approved by the joint Committees:

  • Steve Sviggum-CD 2
  • Darrin Rosha-CD 3
  • David McMillan-CD 8
  • Tom Devine-At-Large.

No date has been set for the joint convention of the House and Senate to make the final appointments.