Joint Statement from DFL Senators on Security and Administration of the 2020 Election

ST. PAUL, Minn. – The State Government Finance and Policy and Elections Committee held a hearing Tuesday under the pretense of reviewing the security of Minnesota’s November Election. During the hearing, Senate Republicans used their committee platform to call into question the conduct of the election without evidence. The effort comes amidst a nationwide disinformation campaign and conspiracy theories that undermine the integrity of our democracy.

In response, the DFL members of the committee, ranking member Senator Jim Carlson (DFL-Eagan), Senator Steve Cwodzinski (DFL-Eden Prairie), Senator Carolyn Laine (DFL-Columbia Heights) and Senator Ann Rest (DFL-New Hope) released the following statement:

“Minnesotans turned out in unprecedented numbers to make their voices heard in the 2020 Presidential Election. With turnout of 79.96%, voters in all 87 counties voted safely whether in person, by mail, or by absentee ballot. The election results were certified by the statewide canvassing board on November 24. No credible evidence of ballot irregularities were found and an election-related lawsuit was thrown out by the Minnesota Supreme Court.

Our elections would not be possible without the Secretary of State’s Office, local election officials, and volunteers who all make our elections a success. Despite concerns about having enough poll workers to conduct our elections due to the pandemic, Minnesota citizens answered the call, with new, younger, and veteran poll workers volunteering to ensure 30,000 election judges were available to successfully administer the 2020 Presidential Election.

Baselessly suggesting election improprieties is an insult to these volunteers who stepped up, some for the very first time, and by all accounts ran an effective and efficient election. We owe it to these patriots in every one of our districts, to debunk conspiracy theories and rumors that anything fraudulent or untoward occurred.

Free, fair, and transparent elections are the foundation of a strong democracy. Minnesotans should be confident that the 2020 Election was conducted with the utmost integrity, and that the results accurately and faithfully reflect their will.”


Senator Jim Carlson
Jim Carlson represents District 51, which includes Eagan and areas of Burnsville.

Learn more about Sen. Carlson.

Read more news from Sen. Carlson.
Senator Jim Carlson on EmailSenator Jim Carlson on FacebookSenator Jim Carlson on FlickrSenator Jim Carlson on Twitter
Steve Cwodzinski represents District 48 in the southwest Twin Cities metro.

Learn more about Sen. Cwodzinski.

Read more news from Sen. Cwodzinski.
Senator Steve Cwodzinski on EmailSenator Steve Cwodzinski on FacebookSenator Steve Cwodzinski on FlickrSenator Steve Cwodzinski on Twitter
Carolyn Laine represents Senate District 41 in the northwest part of the Twin Cities metro.

Learn more about Sen. Laine.

Read more news from Sen. Laine.
Senator Carolyn Laine on EmailSenator Carolyn Laine on Flickr
Senator Ann Rest
Ann Rest represents District 45, which includes portions of the western suburbs of Hennepin County in the Twin Cities metro area.

Learn more about Sen. Rest.

Read more news from Sen. Rest.
Senator Ann Rest on EmailSenator Ann Rest on FacebookSenator Ann Rest on FlickrSenator Ann Rest on Twitter