Melin, Metsa, Tomassoni announce funding for local infrastructure improvements

ST. PAUL, MN – Today, State Representative Carly Melin (DFL – Hibbing), State Representative Jason Metsa (DFL – Virginia) and Senator David Tomassoni (DFL – Chisholm) announced new funding to finance local infrastructure improvements and put Minnesotans back to work.

Over $7 million is available for local communities as a result of the supplemental tax bill (House File 3167) approved by the Legislature and Governor Dayton. Funding for local governments becomes available in August 2014, payable by the St. Louis County Auditor through the Taconite Property Tax Relief Account (TPTRA).

“Our state’s high quality of life is possible because strong, sturdy infrastructure,” said Melin. “The projects we’re funding will have a positive impact on our communities for years to come.”

“I’m very pleased we could help cities and townships all across the Range with their infrastructure needs,” said Tomassoni. “Many of these communities receiving funding would not be able to complete these essential infrastructure improvement projects without these payments from the Taconite Property Tax Relief Account.”

Included in the funding is over $2.5 million in block grants available for the Iron Range Resources and Rehabilitation Board (IRRRB) to allocate to local townships.

“The IRRRB fund for townships is a big deal,” added Metsa. “It reflects our commitment to help every community on the Range address their basic needs and improve services that our neighbors and friends depend on every day.”

The infrastructure improvement projects located in Senate District 6 include:

· $198,039 for the City of Marble (water main and looping project)

· $257,450 for the City of Nashwauk (infrastructure project)

· $198,039 for the City of Calumet (sewer project)

· $198,039 for Nashwauk Township (Nashwauk town hall)

· $154,470 for Balkan Township (salt storage and energy efficient cold storage buildings)

· $1,188,233 for the City of McKinkley (construction of a water line to either Gilbert or Biwabik)

· $118,823 for Morse Township (recreational trail)

· $257,450 for the City of Aurora (infrastructure project)

· $257,450 for the City of Hoyt Lakes (storm water project)

· $198,039 for the City of Biwabik (emergency repair of a wastewater treatment project)

The mining effects tax of four cents per ton was also changed this year to allow communities who receive the proceeds of the tax to use the entire allocation for infrastructure improvements. This is a change from previous years when the proceeds had to be split in half with other communities. This change will allow more investment into community infrastructure and improve the quality of life for residents.


Senator David Tomassoni
David Tomassoni represents District 6, which includes portions of Itasca and St. Louis counties in the northeastern part of the state.

Read more news from Sen. Tomassoni.
Senator David Tomassoni on EmailSenator David Tomassoni on Flickr