Minneapolis and St. Paul DFL Legislators denounce Sen. Eichorn’s comments on Minnesotans experiencing homelessness

St. Paul, Minn.— The Minneapolis and St. Paul delegation of DFL Senators released the following statement in response to Sen. Justin Eichorn’s insensitive comments equating Minnesotans experiencing homelessness to camping in the Boundary Waters in Northern Minnesota.

Senate DFL Legislators’ joint statement:

“Living in a tent on the streets because you are experiencing homelessness is not a fun vacation outing. We have a housing crisis – which was exacerbated by this pandemic. Senator Eichorn is using our most vulnerable Minnesotans experiencing homelessness for political posturing. It says a lot about Senator Eichorn’s values when he looks at a homeless encampment in St. Paul and his first thought is, “I’m angry we can’t go on a camping vacation right now” … not “how can we end the epidemic of homelessness in our state?”

Most people understand that experiencing homelessness and living in a tent on the street is not the same as recreational camping up North.  No one should have to live in a tent because you can’t find an affordable home. Our residents experiencing homelessness should not be used as props to take a cheap shot at our governor, especially during a public health crisis.  That is wrong and immoral.  We need to work together to address the pandemic and the housing crisis, protect the most vulnerable among us, and trust the science and data so we can reopen our state safely. 

To equate and politicize our poorest of the poor who are living in tents on the street, just trying to survive, to camping is insensitive, uncaring, and callous.  We expect better.  Minnesotans expect better.  Justin Eichorn owes every Minnesotan an apology.”

The link to the video Sen. Eichorn posted can be accessed here.

Senator Scott Dibble
Scott Dibble represents District 61, which includes portions of the city of Minneapolis in Hennepin County.

Learn more about Sen. Dibble.

Read more news from Sen. Dibble.
Senator Scott Dibble on EmailSenator Scott Dibble on FacebookSenator Scott Dibble on FlickrSenator Scott Dibble on Twitter
Senator Kari Dziedzic
Kari Dziedzic represents District 60, which includes Seward, Cedar Riverside, Southeast and Northeast Minneapolis.

Learn more about Sen. Dziedzic.

Read more news from Sen. Dziedzic.
Senator Kari Dziedzic on EmailSenator Kari Dziedzic on FacebookSenator Kari Dziedzic on FlickrSenator Kari Dziedzic on Twitter
Senator Jeff Hayden
Jeff Hayden represents District 62, which includes portions of south Minneapolis in Hennepin County in the Twin Cities metropolitan area.

Read more news from Sen. Hayden.
Senator Jeff Hayden on EmailSenator Jeff Hayden on FacebookSenator Jeff Hayden on FlickrSenator Jeff Hayden on Twitter
Senator Bobby Joe Champion
Bobby Joe Champion represents District 59, which includes portions of downtown and north Minneapolis in Hennepin County. He is also an attorney.

Learn more about Sen. Champion.

Read more news from Sen. Champion.
Senator Bobby Joe Champion on EmailSenator Bobby Joe Champion on FacebookSenator Bobby Joe Champion on Flickr
Senator Foung Hawj
Foung Hawj represents District 67, which includes the east side of Saint Paul in Ramsey County in the central Twin Cities metropolitan area.

Learn more about Sen. Hawj.

Read more news from Sen. Hawj.
Senator Foung Hawj on EmailSenator Foung Hawj on FacebookSenator Foung Hawj on Flickr
Senator Sandy Pappas
Sandy Pappas represents District 65, which includes portions of Saint Paul in Ramsey County in the Twin Cities metropolitan area.

Learn more about Sen. Pappas.

Read more news from Sen. Pappas.
Senator Sandy Pappas on EmailSenator Sandy Pappas on FacebookSenator Sandy Pappas on FlickrSenator Sandy Pappas on Twitter
Senator John Marty
John Marty represents Roseville, Lauderdale, Falcon Heights and northern St. Paul.

Learn more about Sen. Marty.

Read more news from Sen. Marty.
Senator John Marty on EmailSenator John Marty on FacebookSenator John Marty on FlickrSenator John Marty on Twitter
Senator Cohen
Senator Cohen on EmailSenator Cohen on FacebookSenator Cohen on FlickrSenator Cohen on Twitter
Senator Patricia Torres Ray
Patricia Torres Ray represents District 63, which includes portions of southeastern Minneapolis and eastern Richfield in Hennepin County in the Twin Cities metropolitan area.

Learn more about Sen. Torres Ray.

Read more news from Sen. Torres Ray.
Senator Patricia Torres Ray on EmailSenator Patricia Torres Ray on Flickr