Minneapolis State Senators react to the guilty verdict in the trial of Derek Chauvin

Today, April 20th, the jury in the Derek Chauvin trial released a verdict of guilty on all three counts of second-degree murder, third-degree murder, and second-degree manslaughter. 

In response, the Minnesota State Senators representing Minneapolis released the following statement:

“This past year has been marked by the pain of so many in our communities and has united us all in the continued fight against racial injustice in Minnesota. We are committed to changing the current system to create accountability within our policing system and to hold police to the highest standard we should expect from those charged with enforcing the law and keeping us safe. Our BIPOC communities have been disproportionately impacted by police brutality and have demonstrated their resolution for achieving meaningful change to protect people of color within their communities. 

“Minneapolis has gone through tremendous trauma within the past year. May the verdict bring some peace to Mr. Floyd’s family, friends, and our community. 

“In advance of tonight, we are calling on law enforcement officers to treat protestors with dignity and respect, and to not participate in any escalation of violence that may occur. With concerns towards the cross-jurisdictional support from outside Minneapolis and outside the state, we are stressing the need for reasonable and calm reactions to protesters and members of the media exercising their First Amendment Rights. 

“We recognize the importance of safety and the work towards maintaining peace, and we implore state, county, and city officials to remember the world is watching and that their actions can either contribute to the continuation of violence that our community has faced or they can stop the cycle that has been occurring for centuries.

“The fight for justice doesn’t end with this guilty verdict – the verdict strengthens our resolve to enact real systemic change and end racial injustice. It is time to once again come together and pass true police reform that will create impactful change to our current system. All people deserve to feel safe and secure within their own community, and we need to demonstrate as elected officials that we are making this a priority in the Minnesota State Senate. 

“By working with our community, we can create a state where we all make it home safe at the end of the day, no matter our skin color or ZIP code.”

The city of Minneapolis is represented by the following: Sen. Kari Dziedzic, Sen. Patricia Torres Ray, Sen. Omar Fateh, Sen. Bobby Joe Champion, Sen. D. Scott Dibble.

Omar Fateh represents Senate District 62, which covers the community of South Minneapolis.

Learn more about Sen. Fateh.

Read more news from Sen. Fateh.
Senator Kari Dziedzic
Kari Dziedzic represents District 60, which includes Seward, Cedar Riverside, Southeast and Northeast Minneapolis.

Learn more about Sen. Dziedzic.

Read more news from Sen. Dziedzic.
Senator Kari Dziedzic on EmailSenator Kari Dziedzic on FacebookSenator Kari Dziedzic on FlickrSenator Kari Dziedzic on Twitter
Senator Patricia Torres Ray
Patricia Torres Ray represents District 63, which includes portions of southeastern Minneapolis and eastern Richfield in Hennepin County in the Twin Cities metropolitan area.

Learn more about Sen. Torres Ray.

Read more news from Sen. Torres Ray.
Senator Patricia Torres Ray on EmailSenator Patricia Torres Ray on Flickr
Senator Bobby Joe Champion
Senate President Senate District 59
Bobby Joe Champion represents District 59, which includes portions of downtown and north Minneapolis in Hennepin County. He is also an attorney.

Learn more about Sen. Champion.

Read more news from Sen. Champion.
Senator Bobby Joe Champion on EmailSenator Bobby Joe Champion on FacebookSenator Bobby Joe Champion on FlickrSenator Bobby Joe Champion on InstagramSenator Bobby Joe Champion on TwitterSenator Bobby Joe Champion on Youtube
Senator Scott Dibble
Senate President Senate District 61
Scott Dibble represents District 61, which includes portions of the city of Minneapolis in Hennepin County.

Learn more about Sen. Dibble.

Read more news from Sen. Dibble.
Senator Scott Dibble on EmailSenator Scott Dibble on FacebookSenator Scott Dibble on FlickrSenator Scott Dibble on Twitter