Photo Cutline: Sen. Metzen, Chair of Commerce Committee

Senator Jim Metzen, Chair of the Minnesota Senate Commerce Committee, is pictured with Senator Ron Latz and Commerce Commissioner designate Mike Rothman after a recent confirmation hearing in Metzen’s committee.

The Commerce Department covers a wide range of areas including consumer protection, regulation of financial service industries including insurance, state-chartered banks, credit unions, securities, and real estate. The Department licenses franchises, collection agencies, and currency exchanges. The Commerce Department is also responsible for enforcement of Public Utilities Commission (PUC) rules and orders, regulation of natural gas and electric public utilities, energy conservation standards and information programs, low-income home energy assistance and weatherization, regulation of telephone companies, the administration of Telecommunications Access Minnesota (TAM), petrofund, and unclaimed property programs.

As Chair of the Commerce Committee, Sen. Metzen is responsible for overseeing legislation in all these areas.

Senator James Metzen
Sen. Metzen represented District 52, which includes portions of Dakota County in the southeastern Twin Cities metropolitan area. Sen. Metzen passed away shortly after the end of the 2016 Legislative Session.

Read more news from Sen. Metzen.
Senator James Metzen on EmailSenator James Metzen on Twitter