POCI Caucus, Speaker Hortman Call for Immediate Legislative Funding for Minneapolis – St. Paul Rebuilding Efforts, Arrest of all Ex-Minneapolis Officers Involved in the Death of George Floyd

SAINT PAUL, MN— Today, members of the Minnesota People of Color and Indigenous (POCI) Caucus and Minnesota House Speaker Melissa Hortman called for further action to help heal and rebuild the community of Minneapolis that has been impacted in the wake of the recent protests. After days of public protests and outcry in response to the murder of George Floyd, the POCI caucus called for immediate legislative funding for Minneapolis and St. Paul rebuilding efforts and the arrest of all ex-Minneapolis police officers involved in the death of George Floyd. Below is their joint statement.

“The communities of Minneapolis, St. Paul, and the members of the POCI Caucus have been working to advance reforms against the excessive use of police force for years. That work and advocacy is not associated with the violence and destruction that has occurred in the past few days and caused harm to the very community we have sought to protect.

The devastation that has hit the Minneapolis, St. Paul, and surrounding communities will require all of us to come together to do our part and ensure they have the help, access to resources, and infrastructure they need to rebuild and heal their community. That is why we are calling for immediate access to legislative funds, for the community, to address this emergency situation. In order to ensure the security and well-being of the communities impacted it is imperative that we act promptly and do everything we can within our legislative power to help.

We are also calling for the immediate arrest of the three other ex-Minneapolis police officers involved in the death of George Floyd. Their inaction is unjustifiable, and justice must be served for Mr. Floyd who audibly pleaded and called out for help as they stood by watching his murder.”

The People of Color & Indigenous (POCI) Caucus includes Reps. Jamie Becker-Finn (42B), Aisha Gomez (62B), Hodan Hassan (62A), Kaohly Her (64A), Mary Kunesh-Podein (41B), Fue Lee (59A), Alice Mann (56B), Carlos Mariani (65B), Rena Moran (65A), Mohamud Noor (60B), Ruth Richardson (52B), Samantha Vang (40B), Jay Xiong (67B), Tou Xiong (53B), and Sens. Melisa Franzen (49), Foung Hawj (67), Jeff Hayden (62), Bobby Joe Champion (59), and Patricia Torres Ray (63).

Senator Patricia Torres Ray
Patricia Torres Ray represents District 63, which includes portions of southeastern Minneapolis and eastern Richfield in Hennepin County in the Twin Cities metropolitan area.

Learn more about Sen. Torres Ray.

Read more news from Sen. Torres Ray.
Senator Patricia Torres Ray on EmailSenator Patricia Torres Ray on Flickr
Senator Bobby Joe Champion
Bobby Joe Champion represents District 59, which includes portions of downtown and north Minneapolis in Hennepin County. He is also an attorney.

Learn more about Sen. Champion.

Read more news from Sen. Champion.
Senator Bobby Joe Champion on EmailSenator Bobby Joe Champion on FacebookSenator Bobby Joe Champion on Flickr
Senator Jeff Hayden
Jeff Hayden represents District 62, which includes portions of south Minneapolis in Hennepin County in the Twin Cities metropolitan area.

Read more news from Sen. Hayden.
Senator Jeff Hayden on EmailSenator Jeff Hayden on FacebookSenator Jeff Hayden on FlickrSenator Jeff Hayden on Twitter
Senator Foung Hawj
Foung Hawj represents District 67, which includes the east side of Saint Paul in Ramsey County in the central Twin Cities metropolitan area.

Learn more about Sen. Hawj.

Read more news from Sen. Hawj.
Senator Foung Hawj on EmailSenator Foung Hawj on FacebookSenator Foung Hawj on Flickr
Senator Melisa López Franzen
Melisa López Franzen represents District 49 in the southwest Twin Cities metropolitan area.

Learn more about Sen. Franzen.

Read more news from Sen. Franzen.
Senator Melisa López Franzen on EmailSenator Melisa López Franzen on FacebookSenator Melisa López Franzen on FlickrSenator Melisa López Franzen on Twitter