POCI Caucus Statement on National Immigrant Heritage Month

This month, President Joseph Biden proclaimed June 2021 as National Immigrant Heritage Month. In recognition of the contributions to Minnesota made by our immigrant communities, the People of Color and Indigenous (POCI) Caucus released the following statement:

“So much of the diversity that makes Minnesota the state we love is thanks in large part to our immigrant communities. From all walks of life, from all over the globe, immigrants have been coming to Minnesota in search of a better life for our state’s entire history. Minnesota’s heritage is a heritage of immigrants. This month, as we celebrate and honor our immigrant heritage, we must also reflect and address the new and continued burdens faced by those starting a life in a different country.

“The past year has not impacted all Minnesotans equally, and our immigrant communities have not only been disproportionately harmed by the COVID-19 pandemic and xenophobic attacks, but the civil unrest following the murder of George Floyd has devastated some of the most influential immigrant-owned economic corridors in the state. As we honor our heritage, let us also commit to supporting our present immigrant communities, and building a prosperous future for the next generation of new Minnesotans.”

Senator Patricia Torres Ray
Patricia Torres Ray represents District 63, which includes portions of southeastern Minneapolis and eastern Richfield in Hennepin County in the Twin Cities metropolitan area.

Learn more about Sen. Torres Ray.

Read more news from Sen. Torres Ray.
Senator Patricia Torres Ray on EmailSenator Patricia Torres Ray on Flickr
Senator Bobby Joe Champion
Senate President Senate District 59
Bobby Joe Champion represents District 59, which includes portions of downtown and north Minneapolis in Hennepin County. He is also an attorney.

Learn more about Sen. Champion.

Read more news from Sen. Champion.
Senator Bobby Joe Champion on EmailSenator Bobby Joe Champion on FacebookSenator Bobby Joe Champion on FlickrSenator Bobby Joe Champion on InstagramSenator Bobby Joe Champion on TwitterSenator Bobby Joe Champion on Youtube
Senate President Senate District 62
Omar Fateh represents Senate District 62, which covers the community of South Minneapolis.

Learn more about Sen. Fateh.

Read more news from Sen. Fateh.
Senator Foung Hawj
Senate President Senate District 67
Foung Hawj represents District 67, which includes the east side of Saint Paul in Ramsey County in the central Twin Cities metropolitan area.

Learn more about Sen. Hawj.

Read more news from Sen. Hawj.
Senator Foung Hawj on EmailSenator Foung Hawj on FacebookSenator Foung Hawj on Flickr
Senate President Senate District 39
Mary K. Kunesh represents Senate District 39, which covers the communities of St. Anthony Village, New Brighton, Hilltop, Columbia Heights, Fridley, and a portion of Spring Lake Park.

Learn more about Sen. Kunesh.

Read more news from Sen. Kunesh.
Senator Melisa López Franzen
Senate President Senate District 49
Melisa López Franzen represents District 49 in the southwest Twin Cities metropolitan area.

Learn more about Sen. Franzen.

Read more news from Sen. Franzen.
Senator Melisa López Franzen on EmailSenator Melisa López Franzen on FacebookSenator Melisa López Franzen on FlickrSenator Melisa López Franzen on Twitter