POCI Caucus Statement on Public Safety Accountability

Today, Monday June 28, the People of Color and Indigenous Caucus (POCI) introduced a number of amendments to the Public Safety and Judiciary budget bill. This is in response to the absence of several necessary accountability measures in the current bill language. The POCI Caucus is also calling on Governor Walz to use his executive authority to enact several reforms. The POCI Caucus released the following statement. 

 “Minneapolis, Minnesota is the recent epicenter of a racial justice reckoning happening across the United States. After the murder of George Floyd at the hands of Derek Chauvin, people from all backgrounds took to the streets demanding change. Unfortunately the changes sought by so many, that would help diminish the killing of BIPOC people at the hands of the police, did not emerge.

“During the regular session and through the special session, the POCI Caucus and members of the House DFL Public Safety Committee worked tirelessly to move meaningful police accountability policies in negotiations with the Senate Republican Majority who refused to hold bad actors accountable. The bill as posted does not include the significant changes to hold police accountable or to prevent future harm. 

“We will keep working through the legislative process to see meaningful police accountability measures that had previously been discussed on the House Floor like limiting pretextual stops, sign and release warrants, and rules around body camera footage added to the bill before its vote on Tuesday.

“The POCI Caucus is also urging Governor Walz to exercise his executive authority through the POST Board to enact changes to keep more Minnesotans from unnecessarily dying at the hands of police officers. As the leader of the state, we want him to be our partner in keeping Minnesotans safe, and through these actions that process can begin. 

“Black and brown people have not felt safe in Minnesota. This moment requires us to do something different to achieve justice for our community. We are asking our leaders to meet us in this challenge and intervene where they can enact stronger policies. We are not ‘One Minnesota’ until all of us feel safe and protected, particularly by those sworn to do so.”

Senator Patricia Torres Ray
Patricia Torres Ray represents District 63, which includes portions of southeastern Minneapolis and eastern Richfield in Hennepin County in the Twin Cities metropolitan area.

Learn more about Sen. Torres Ray.

Read more news from Sen. Torres Ray.
Senator Patricia Torres Ray on EmailSenator Patricia Torres Ray on Flickr
Senator Bobby Joe Champion
Senate President Senate District 59
Bobby Joe Champion represents District 59, which includes portions of downtown and north Minneapolis in Hennepin County. He is also an attorney.

Learn more about Sen. Champion.

Read more news from Sen. Champion.
Senator Bobby Joe Champion on EmailSenator Bobby Joe Champion on FacebookSenator Bobby Joe Champion on FlickrSenator Bobby Joe Champion on InstagramSenator Bobby Joe Champion on TwitterSenator Bobby Joe Champion on Youtube
Senate President Senate District 62
Omar Fateh represents Senate District 62, which covers the community of South Minneapolis.

Learn more about Sen. Fateh.

Read more news from Sen. Fateh.
Senator Melisa López Franzen
Senate President Senate District 49
Melisa López Franzen represents District 49 in the southwest Twin Cities metropolitan area.

Learn more about Sen. Franzen.

Read more news from Sen. Franzen.
Senator Melisa López Franzen on EmailSenator Melisa López Franzen on FacebookSenator Melisa López Franzen on FlickrSenator Melisa López Franzen on Twitter
Senator Foung Hawj
Senate President Senate District 67
Foung Hawj represents District 67, which includes the east side of Saint Paul in Ramsey County in the central Twin Cities metropolitan area.

Learn more about Sen. Hawj.

Read more news from Sen. Hawj.
Senator Foung Hawj on EmailSenator Foung Hawj on FacebookSenator Foung Hawj on Flickr
Senate President Senate District 39
Mary K. Kunesh represents Senate District 39, which covers the communities of St. Anthony Village, New Brighton, Hilltop, Columbia Heights, Fridley, and a portion of Spring Lake Park.

Learn more about Sen. Kunesh.

Read more news from Sen. Kunesh.