Revenue Commissioner Cynthia Bauerly announces departure

After six years as the Department of Revenue Commissioner, Cynthia Bauerly announced her departure today. Commissioner Bauerly is the longest serving Department of Revenue Commissioner in the state’s history and she previously served as deputy commissioner in 2014 before taking over as Commissioner in 2015.

Senator Ann Rest, DFL-New Hope, the DFL lead on the Taxes Committee, releases the following statement:

“I would like to thank Commissioner Bauerly for her hard work and dedication to the state of Minnesota. I was among the Senators who voted to confirm her as Commissioner during former Governor Dayton’s administration.

As Commissioner, she managed the state’s revenue system, administered state tax laws, and managed an agency with more than 1,500 employees.

Commissioner Bauerly brought strength, intelligence, and integrity to this role. Her values were shown through her work in presenting comprehensive, progressive tax bills to the Legislature, improvement in the state’s taxpayer outreach efforts, and in being resolute in her mission to ensure tax laws put all Minnesotans first.

She demonstrated collegiality in dealing with Legislators by having easy, accessible ways to discuss tax policy especially as we examined ways to propose new tax laws that would continue equity and fairness in all aspects of Minnesota’s tax policy.

I am grateful to have worked with her and wish her all the best in her future endeavors.”

Senator Ann Rest
Ann Rest represents District 45, which includes portions of the western suburbs of Hennepin County in the Twin Cities metro area.

Learn more about Sen. Rest.

Read more news from Sen. Rest.
Senator Ann Rest on EmailSenator Ann Rest on FacebookSenator Ann Rest on FlickrSenator Ann Rest on Twitter