Sen. Murphy, Rep. Frazier, and Majority Leader Winkler appointed to Frontline Worker Pay Working Group

Senator Erin Murphy (DFL-Saint Paul) and Representative Cedrick Frazier (DFL-New Hope), co-authors of the Essential Workers Emergency Leave Act, with a panel of legislators that include Majority Leader Representative Ryan Winkler, have been appointed to the Frontline Worker Pay Working Group that will determine the distribution of the $250 million included in the Minnesota state budget dedicated to frontline workers. The funding was made possible by one-time federal funds from the American Rescue Plan.

“I am ready for the next chapter of this important work for frontline essential workers,” said Sen. Erin Murphy. “The task of this panel will challenge us. But our charge is clear – to make whole the workers who risked their lives to keep Minnesotans alive and to keep our economy moving with the backpay they are due. I am eager to get started.”

“I am honored to join Sen. Murphy to continue this important work,” said Rep. Cedrick Frazier. “Our essential workers have sacrificed so much to take care of us during this pandemic. It’s time to pay them more than just lip service.”

“Minnesotans are tired of seeing corporations, the rich, and well-connected do better and better while workers and families can’t get ahead,” said Majority Leader Ryan Winkler. “I am honored to be appointed to the Frontline Worker Pay Working Group that will direct long overdue financial support to the people who have risked the most to keep all of us safer during the pandemic. It’s not nearly enough to say ‘thanks’ to heroic frontline workers and their families. This is an important step toward helping Minnesotans emerge stronger from the pandemic, and building an economy that works for everyone.”

Erin Murphy represents Senate District 64, which includes portions of the Saint Paul community.

Learn more about Sen. Murphy.

Read more news from Sen. Murphy.