Sen. Torres Ray to Chair Senate State & Local Government Committee

ST. PAUL, Minn. – Starting on the first day of session, Jan. 6, 2015, Sen. Patricia Torres Ray (DFL-Minneapolis) will be chairing the Senate’s State and Local Government Committee. Torres Ray says she is eager to put her 14 years of experience in state government administration to use in crafting innovative policies to better serve all forms of government across the state.

“I am incredibly excited to take on this new committee. While education will always be my passion, and I’ll continue to play a leadership role on the education committee, I’m looking forward to using my experience in state government administration to work on creative initiatives to further increase the effectiveness and efficiency of our state and local government agencies,” said Torres Ray.

The Senate State and Local Government Committee is comprised of a bi-partisan panel of 12 members. Those members include Vice Chair Sen. Chris Eaton (DFL-Brooklyn Center), Sen. Kevin Dahle (DFL-Northfield), Sen. Jeff Hayden (DFL-Minneapolis), Sen. Alice Johnson (DFL-Spring Lake Park), Sen. Sandra Pappas (DFL-St. Paul), Sen. Bev Scalze (DFL-Little Canada), Sen. Melissa Wiklund (DFL-Bloomington), Sen. Bruce Anderson (R-Buffalo), Sen. Dan Hall (R-Burnsville), Sen. Karin Housley (R-Stillwater), Sen. Brandon Petersen (R-Andover), and Sen. Dave Thompson (R-Lakeville).

The State and Local Government Committee has jurisdiction over all bills that create a new state agency, substantially change the organization of a current state agency, or transfer duties from one agency to another. The committee also works on bills relating to state administrative services, state employee compensation, public employee labor relations, pensions and retirement, gambling, lotteries, veterans and military affairs, and the structure of the Legislature. The committee will also oversee bills that relate to the powers of local and metropolitan governmental units.

For more information on Torres Ray’s committee assignment or any other legislative concerns, Sen. Torres Ray can be reached by calling her office at (651) 296-4274.

Senator Patricia Torres Ray
Patricia Torres Ray represents District 63, which includes portions of southeastern Minneapolis and eastern Richfield in Hennepin County in the Twin Cities metropolitan area.

Learn more about Sen. Torres Ray.

Read more news from Sen. Torres Ray.
Senator Patricia Torres Ray on EmailSenator Patricia Torres Ray on Flickr