Senate DFL announces Assistant Leaders

Senators Nick Frentz (DFL-North Mankato), Mary Kunesh (DFL-New Brighton), and Foung Hawj (DFL-Saint Paul) were elected tonight by the Senate DFL to serve as their assistant leaders alongside their newly elected Leader, Senator Melisa López Franzen (DFL-Edina).

“I am confident that the Senate DFL elected a strong team of Senators tonight to serve as Assistant Minority Leaders to continue the work and mission of our caucus,” said Senate DFL Leader Melisa López Franzen. “Senate DFLers are incredibly energized to do the work that will lead to change and for the chance to pass legislation into law that will support our working families and our students, create a clean future with good paying jobs and will protect our democracy. This team and I are ready to continue working on building a better future for all Minnesotans.”

Senator Nick Frentz was elected in 2016 to represent Senate District 19, which includes the communities of St. Peter, Nicollet, Mankato, North Mankato, Eagle Lake, Kasota, and rural Nicollet County. 

“I am honored and humbled to be re-elected by our caucus to serve as Assistant Minority Leader,” said Senate DFL Assistant Leader Nick Frentz. “I am thankful for the opportunity to once again help lead the Senate DFL. I am particularly anxious to join this leadership team to bring the voice of all Minnesotans – rural, suburban, and urban. We will continue the hard work and vision in building a Minnesota that we can all be proud of.”

Senator Foung Hawj was elected in 2012 and represents District 67, the East Side of Saint Paul. 

“I am thankful for the support of my colleagues in re-electing me to serve on the leadership team for the Senate DFL,” said Senate DFL Assistant Leader Foung Hawj. “I’m confident that my knowledge and experience will be beneficial in driving the course of our caucus and to engage our diverse communities as well as inclusivity. As a team player, I want to help our caucus be more cohesive, transparent as well as upholding a safe space for dialogue, and improve our members and staff morale.”

Senator Mary Kunesh was elected in 2020 to represent District 41, which includes the communities of Fridley, Spring Lake Park, Columbia Heights, Hilltop, New Brighton, and Saint Anthony.

“It’s an honor and a privilege to be elected by my colleagues to represent the Senate DFL as an Assistant Minority Leader,” said Senate DFL Assistant Leader Mary Kunesh. “I am ready to help lead our caucus in building a strong future for our communities across Minnesota. I am ready to help unify us all to continue the hard work together.”

Senator Melisa López Franzen
Melisa López Franzen represents District 49 in the southwest Twin Cities metropolitan area.

Learn more about Sen. Franzen.

Read more news from Sen. Franzen.
Senator Melisa López Franzen on EmailSenator Melisa López Franzen on FacebookSenator Melisa López Franzen on FlickrSenator Melisa López Franzen on Twitter
Senator Nick Frentz
Nick Frentz represents Senate District 18, which includes portions of Blue Earth, Le Sueur, and Nicollet counties in the south central part of the state.

Learn more about Sen. Frentz.

Read more news from Sen. Frentz.
Senator Nick Frentz on FacebookSenator Nick Frentz on Flickr
Senator Foung Hawj
Foung Hawj represents District 67, which includes the east side of Saint Paul in Ramsey County in the central Twin Cities metropolitan area.

Learn more about Sen. Hawj.

Read more news from Sen. Hawj.
Senator Foung Hawj on EmailSenator Foung Hawj on FacebookSenator Foung Hawj on Flickr
Mary K. Kunesh represents Senate District 39, which covers the communities of St. Anthony Village, New Brighton, Hilltop, Columbia Heights, Fridley, and a portion of Spring Lake Park.

Learn more about Sen. Kunesh.

Read more news from Sen. Kunesh.