Senate DFL Leader Susan Kent, Members Respond to Governor’s Announcement of Temporary Statewide School Closures

SAINT PAUL, MN— Sunday, Governor Tim Walz ordered the temporary closure of schools by signing an executive order that allows school administrators and teachers to make long-term plans for the continuity of education and essential services during the COVID-19 pandemic. From Wednesday, March 18 to Friday, March 27, Minnesota schools will be closed to students to accommodate this planning between school staff, teachers, and administrators.

“Governor Walz’s decision to temporarily close schools comes during a difficult time of uncertainty and I am grateful for his leadership to prioritize the health and safety of students and families across the state,” said Senate DFL Leader Susan Kent. “The wellbeing of students comes first, and the requirement for schools to continue providing meals and mental health services to students in need reflects our shared value of taking care of our youngest Minnesotans.”

“As the challenge of the COVID-19 spread is felt more and more in our state, we must make decisions that put the health and wellbeing of people first, especially for those in our schools,” said Senator Chuck Wiger, ranking DFL member of the Senate E-12 Finance and Policy Committee. “The Governor and public health officials are taking the steps necessary to ensure that our students, teachers, and parents are supported and safe with these measures.”

“The temporary closure of our schools while administrators and state leaders develop plans to continue education for our students is a necessary and important step in Minnesota’s response to COVID-19,”said Senator Matt Klein, one of four medical doctors serving in the legislature. “The continuation of care for elementary schoolchildren of our healthcare workforce shows tremendous foresight, and will allow us to be maximally prepared as the impact of COVID-19 is felt in our state. Minnesota is leading the way with balanced, thoughtful policy under Governor Walz.”

Senator Susan Kent
Susan Kent represents District 53 in the eastern Twin Cities metropolitan area.

Learn more about Sen. Kent.

Read more news from Sen. Kent.
Senator Susan Kent on EmailSenator Susan Kent on FacebookSenator Susan Kent on FlickrSenator Susan Kent on Twitter
Senator Chuck Wiger
Chuck Wiger represents District 43, which includes portions of Ramsey and Washington counties in the northeastern Twin Cities metropolitan area.

Learn more about Sen. Wiger.

Read more news from Sen. Wiger.
Senator Chuck Wiger on EmailSenator Chuck Wiger on FacebookSenator Chuck Wiger on FlickrSenator Chuck Wiger on Twitter
Matt Klein represents Senate District 52 which includes the area spanning parts of Eagan, Inver Grove Heights, Lilydale, the city of Mendota, Mendota Heights, South St. Paul, Sunfish Lake, and West St. Paul.

Learn more about Sen. Klein.

Read more news from Sen. Klein.
Senator Matt Klein on EmailSenator Matt Klein on FacebookSenator Matt Klein on FlickrSenator Matt Klein on Twitter