Senate DFL Majority Chooses Senator Erin Murphy as New Senate Majority Leader

SAINT PAUL, Minn. – The Senate DFL Caucus today chose Senator Erin Murphy (DFL- St. Paul ) as new Senate Majority Leader.  She succeeds Senator Kari Dziedzic (DFL-Minneapolis) who announced Friday she is stepping down from her leadership role due to health reasons.

“I am honored by the vote of my Senate colleagues, and I’m committed to working with all the members of the diverse DFL Caucus to serve the people of Minnesota wherever they live,” said Majority Leader Murphy.  In the coming months, following the example set by Leader Dziedzic, we will continue our work building on what we accomplished in the 2023 legislative session to meet Minnesotans where they are at, and to improve their lives.”   

Majority Leader Murphy, who served as Assistant Leader until her selection Tuesday as Majority Leader, also served as chair of the Senate State and Local Government and Veterans Committee. During the 2023 legislative session, she authored the $1.6 billion State and Local Government budget bill that ensures Minnesotans receive the timely, quality services they deserve from their state government. 

Majority Leader Murphy is a registered nurse, and served in the Minnesota House of Representatives from 2007-2019, serving as House Majority Leader from 2013-2015. She was elected to the Minnesota Senate in 2020.

Erin Murphy represents Senate District 64, which includes portions of the Saint Paul community.

Learn more about Sen. Murphy.

Read more news from Sen. Murphy.