Senate DFL members respond to MPCA announcement on impaired waters list

This week, the Minnesota Pollution Control Agency (MPCA) added 305 bodies of water to the impaired waters list for a total of 2,904 bodies with 6,168 existing impairments across the state of Minnesota. This list included PFAS contamination found in bodies of water in Greater Minnesota.  

In response, Senators Patricia Torres Ray (DFL-Minneapolis), Jen McEwen (DFL-Duluth), Kari Dziedzic (DFL-Minneapolis), Melissa Wiklund (DFL-Bloomington), John Marty (DFL-Roseville), Greg Clausen (DFL-Apple Valley), Karla Bigham (DFL-Cottage Grove), Mary Kunesh (DFL-New Brighton), Omar Fateh (DFL-Minneapolis), Foung Hawj (DFL-Saint Paul), Lindsey Port (DFL-Burnsville), Chuck Wiger (DFL-Maplewood), and Jason Isaacson (DFL-Shoreview) released the following statement: 

“The data released from the MPCA is alarming. It has become increasingly evident that Minnesota’s waters are in critical condition and their protection and rehabilitation must be a legislative priority in the coming session.” 

Earlier this year, PFAS, a harmful chemical contaminant that has been linked to cancer, reproductive complications, liver disease, and much more, was found in landfills in Minnesota. According to the recent report released by MPCA, PFAS has now been found in our water and fish supply. 

“The speed in which PFAS contamination is spreading across Minnesota is a critical issue the legislature must take immediate action on. The Senate DFL, in partnership with the House Majority, is aware of the gravity of the situation and is prepared to take serious action to combat the contamination of Minnesota’s water.  

Minnesota has long boasted the title of being the land of 10,000 lakes. Our lakes, rivers, and ponds provide us drinking water, are home to many of Minnesota’s native ecosystems, are the core of many of our cultural practices and celebratory events, key resources to our economy, and are sacred to Minnesota’s indigenous populations. When we protect our water, we protect our life source.  

We urge Minnesotans to engage in protecting bodies of water in their local communities by contacting their legislators, attending local meetings, and by letting their voices be heard.” 

The following local meetings will be hosted by the MPCA across Minnesota to inform the community about levels of water impairment in their area and to solicit feedback: 

Statewide assessments: 

Discussion of PFOS in fish tissue and sulfate in wild rice production waters 

When: Thursday, Dec. 9, 2 p.m. 

Where: Meeting link 

Meeting number (access code): 2486 889 4793 

Meeting password: RjVaYfgu847 

Northeast Minnesota regional meeting: 

Includes Little Fork and St. Louis river watersheds 

When: Friday, Dec. 10, 11 a.m. 

Where: Meeting link 

Meeting number (access code): 2494 270 6013 

Meeting password: uxEStJhW448 

Southeast Minnesota regional meeting: 

Includes Cedar River Basin, Root River, Le Sueur River, and Mississippi River – Lake Pepin watersheds 

When: Wednesday, Dec. 15, 1 p.m. 

Where: Meeting link 

Meeting number (access code): 2487 766 0492 

Meeting password: B95Eqw3QVPf 

Western Minnesota regional meeting: 

Includes Buffalo, Upper Red, and Chippewa river watersheds 

When: Thursday, Dec. 16, 2 p.m. 

Where: Meeting link 

Meeting number (access code): 2494 423 7184 

Meeting password: e8nT3SJe3rJ 

Central Minnesota regional meeting: 

Includes Sauk, Mississippi River – St. Cloud, and Lower St. Croix river watersheds 

When: Thursday, Dec. 20, 2 p.m. 

Where: Meeting link 

Meeting number (access code): 2489 358 6002 

Meeting password: PpetMP4ex39 

Senator Patricia Torres Ray
Patricia Torres Ray represents District 63, which includes portions of southeastern Minneapolis and eastern Richfield in Hennepin County in the Twin Cities metropolitan area.

Learn more about Sen. Torres Ray.

Read more news from Sen. Torres Ray.
Senator Patricia Torres Ray on EmailSenator Patricia Torres Ray on Flickr
Jen McEwen represents Senate District 8 which covers the community of Duluth.

Learn more about Sen. McEwen.

Read more news from Sen. McEwen.
Senator Kari Dziedzic
Kari Dziedzic represents District 60, which includes Seward, Cedar Riverside, Southeast and Northeast Minneapolis.

Learn more about Sen. Dziedzic.

Read more news from Sen. Dziedzic.
Senator Kari Dziedzic on EmailSenator Kari Dziedzic on FacebookSenator Kari Dziedzic on FlickrSenator Kari Dziedzic on Twitter
Senator Melissa Wiklund
Melissa Wiklund represents District 51, which includes portions of Bloomington and Richfield in the southern Twin Cities metropolitan area.

Learn more about Sen. Wiklund.

Read more news from Sen. Wiklund.
Senator Melissa Wiklund on EmailSenator Melissa Wiklund on FacebookSenator Melissa Wiklund on FlickrSenator Melissa Wiklund on Twitter
Senator John Marty
John Marty represents Roseville, Shoreview, Arden Hills, Mounds View and New Brighton.

Learn more about Sen. Marty.

Read more news from Sen. Marty.
Senator John Marty on EmailSenator John Marty on FacebookSenator John Marty on FlickrSenator John Marty on Twitter
Senator Greg Clausen
Greg Clausen lives in Apple Valley and represents District 57 in the southern Twin Cities metropolitan area.

Learn more about Sen. Clausen.

Read more news from Sen. Clausen.
Senator Greg Clausen on EmailSenator Greg Clausen on FacebookSenator Greg Clausen on FlickrSenator Greg Clausen on Twitter
Senator Karla Bigham
Karla Bigham represents District 54 in the southeast Twin Cities metro, including parts of Dakota and Washington counties.

Learn more about Sen. Bigham.

Read more news from Sen. Bigham.
Senator Karla Bigham on EmailSenator Karla Bigham on FlickrSenator Karla Bigham on Twitter
Mary K. Kunesh represents Senate District 39, which covers the communities of St. Anthony Village, New Brighton, Hilltop, Columbia Heights, Fridley, and a portion of Spring Lake Park.

Learn more about Sen. Kunesh.

Read more news from Sen. Kunesh.
Omar Fateh represents Senate District 62, which covers the community of South Minneapolis.

Learn more about Sen. Fateh.

Read more news from Sen. Fateh.
Senator Foung Hawj
Foung Hawj represents District 67, which includes the east side of Saint Paul in Ramsey County in the central Twin Cities metropolitan area.

Learn more about Sen. Hawj.

Read more news from Sen. Hawj.
Senator Foung Hawj on EmailSenator Foung Hawj on FacebookSenator Foung Hawj on Flickr
Lindsey Port represents Senate District 55, which covers the communities of Burnsville, Savage, and the northwest part of Lakeville.

Learn more about Sen. Port.

Read more news from Sen. Port.
Senator Chuck Wiger
Chuck Wiger represents District 43, which includes portions of Ramsey and Washington counties in the northeastern Twin Cities metropolitan area.

Learn more about Sen. Wiger.

Read more news from Sen. Wiger.
Senator Chuck Wiger on EmailSenator Chuck Wiger on FacebookSenator Chuck Wiger on FlickrSenator Chuck Wiger on Twitter
Senator Jason Isaacson
Jason Isaacson represents Senate District 42 which includes Arden Hills, Gem Lake, Little Canada, Mounds View, Shoreview, Vadnais Heights, and parts of Roseville, Spring Lake Park, and Blaine.

Learn more about Sen. Isaacson.

Read more news from Sen. Isaacson.
Senator Jason Isaacson on FlickrSenator Jason Isaacson on Twitter