Senate DFL Members support Ranked Choice Voting in Minnesota

On Thursday, Senator Kent Eken (DFL- Twin Valley), Senator Lindsey Port (DFL- Burnsville), Senator Mary Kunesh (DFL-New Brighton), Senator Putnam (DFL-Saint Cloud), Senator Johnson Stewart (DFL-Minnetonka), Senator Carlson (DFL-Eagan), Senator McEwen (DFL-Duluth), Senator Clausen (DFL-Apple Valley), and advocates from Fair Vote MN to discuss the need to enact Ranked Choice Voting in federal, state, and local elections. This press conference comes as Senate Republicans continue to work to take away local communities right to enact Rank Choice Voting.  

“Instant runoff elections work to better ensure that our elected leaders are chosen by a true majority of voters. In our current process, candidates can win even if a majority of the people voted against them. This is counter to the core principles of democracy, said Senator Eken. “The instant runoff system will ensure that the will of the people prevails.” 

“RCV encourages coalition building and positive, issue-based campaigning,” said Senator Port. “It opens the door to grassroots candidates who can build strong community support but may not have as much money as traditional candidates which will help our elected officials to more closely reflect the demographics of our state.” 

“Ranked Choice Voting reduces the partisan divide that has plagued our nation for decades,” said Senator Kunesh. “It gives voters more power and choice in our electoral process. This simple and practical concept is the most cost-effective way to ensure that those who win elections are actually supported by the people. Ranked Choice Voting makes voting more aligned with the natural way we chose candidates and makes politics more sensical overall. This is a bipartisan solution that is possible.”

St. Paul, Minneapolis, St. Louis Park, Minnetonka, and Bloomington have already enacted Ranked Choice Voting for their local elections. Senate Republicans have introduced legislation to eliminate Ranked Choice Voting in these communities and preempt other cities from doing so as well. Senate DFLers oppose this harmful policy and are committed to expanding Ranked Choice Voting as an option in Minnesota.  

Link to press conference:

Senator Kent Eken
Kent Eken represents District 4, which includes portions of Becker, Clay, and Norman counties in the northwestern part of the state.

Learn more about Sen. Eken.

Read more news from Sen. Eken.
Senator Kent Eken on EmailSenator Kent Eken on FacebookSenator Kent Eken on FlickrSenator Kent Eken on Twitter
Lindsey Port represents Senate District 55, which covers the communities of Burnsville, Savage, and the northwest part of Lakeville.

Learn more about Sen. Port.

Read more news from Sen. Port.
Mary K. Kunesh represents Senate District 39, which covers the communities of St. Anthony Village, New Brighton, Hilltop, Columbia Heights, Fridley, and a portion of Spring Lake Park.

Learn more about Sen. Kunesh.

Read more news from Sen. Kunesh.
Aric Putnam represents Senate District 14, which covers the communities of St. Cloud, Waite Park, St. Augusta, Haven, and Minden Townships.

Learn more about Sen. Putnam.

Read more news from Sen. Putnam.
Ann Johnson Stewart represents Senate District 44, which covers the communities of Plymouth, Minnetonka, and Woodland.

Learn more about Sen. Johnson Stewart.

Read more news from Sen. Johnson Stewart.
Senator Jim Carlson
Jim Carlson represents District 51, which includes Eagan and areas of Burnsville.

Learn more about Sen. Carlson.

Read more news from Sen. Carlson.
Senator Jim Carlson on EmailSenator Jim Carlson on FacebookSenator Jim Carlson on FlickrSenator Jim Carlson on InstagramSenator Jim Carlson on TwitterSenator Jim Carlson on Youtube
Jen McEwen represents Senate District 8 which covers the community of Duluth.

Learn more about Sen. McEwen.

Read more news from Sen. McEwen.
Senator Greg Clausen
Greg Clausen lives in Apple Valley and represents District 57 in the southern Twin Cities metropolitan area.

Learn more about Sen. Clausen.

Read more news from Sen. Clausen.
Senator Greg Clausen on EmailSenator Greg Clausen on FacebookSenator Greg Clausen on FlickrSenator Greg Clausen on Twitter