Senate Queer Caucus Celebrates Victories for LGBTQ+ Rights and Reproductive Health Care

Senate Passes Trans Refuge Bill, Conversion “Therapy” Ban, and Reproductive Freedom Defense Act in Landmark Day for Justice and Autonomy

ST. PAUL, Minn. — On Friday, the Minnesota Senate passed three bills that protect Minnesota’s LGBTQ+ community by banning torture by conversion “therapy” (HF 16); defending health care providers and people seeking reproductive health care (HF 366); and protecting trans youth and their families from out-of-state attacks on gender-affirming health care (HF 146).

The members of the Minnesota Senate Queer Caucus release the following statement:

“On Friday, the Senate upheld Minnesotans’ fundamental rights to evidence-based, life-affirming health care and took steps to protect LGBTQ+ Minnesotans from attempts to distort and deny who they are. Our legislature has once again affirmed that politicians must not stand between a patient and their doctor, and other states’ restrictions on proven, necessary health care will not prevent people in Minnesota from providing or receiving that care. The common thread between the Reproductive Freedom Defense Act, the trans refuge bill, and the conversion ‘therapy’ ban is one of liberty and autonomy. We commend each of our colleagues who ushered these landmark victories for freedom and justice into being, and we look forward to these bills’ passage into law.”

The conversion therapy ban (chief author Senator Scott Dibble) passed 36-27. The trans refuge bill (chief author Senator Erin Maye Quade) passed 34-30. The Reproductive Freedom Defense Act (chief author Senator Kelly Morrison) passed 34-29.

The members of the Senate Queer Caucus are Senator Scott Dibble, Senator Erin Maye Quade, and Senator Clare Oumou Verbeten.


Senator Scott Dibble
Scott Dibble represents District 61, which includes portions of the city of Minneapolis in Hennepin County.

Learn more about Sen. Dibble.

Read more news from Sen. Dibble.
Senator Scott Dibble on EmailSenator Scott Dibble on FacebookSenator Scott Dibble on FlickrSenator Scott Dibble on Twitter
Senator Clare Oumou Verbeten represents Senate District 66 which includes Falcon Height, Lauderdale, Roseville, and St. Paul. She is vice chair of the Judiciary and Public Safety Committee, and serves on the Education Finance Committee, Higher Education Committee, and the Labor Committee.

Learn more about Sen. Oumou Verbeten.
Senator Clare Oumou Verbeten on EmailSenator Clare Oumou Verbeten on Twitter
Senator Erin Maye Quade represents Senate District 56 which includes Apple Valley, Eagan, and Rosemount. She is vice chair of the Education Policy Committee, and serves on the Education Finance Committee, Human Services Committee, and the State and Local Government and Veterans Committee.
Learn more about Sen. Maye Quade.
Senator Erin Maye Quade on EmailSenator Erin Maye Quade on Twitter