Senate St. Paul Delegation Applauds St. Paul City Council Vote on Safe Gun Storage

ST. PAUL, Minn. —  On Wednesday, the St. Paul City Council unanimously approved an ordinance requiring secure storage of firearms, in a gun safe or with a trigger lock. Mayor Melvin Carter has indicated he’ll sign the ordinance, authored by Councilmember Rebecca Noecker, in the coming days.

The members of the Minnesota Senate St. Paul delegation released the following statement in celebration of the ordinance’s passage:

“We extend heartfelt congratulations to the St. Paul City Council and to Councilmember Rebecca Noecker, whose efforts in shaping and passing mandated safe firearm storage will prevent violence and save countless lives. Councilmember Noecker has crafted an effective and thoughtful policy in collaboration with community members and legal experts, and her care and advocacy will prevent tragedies and violence for years to come.

“This lifesaving vote comes just as the Minnesota Legislature has passed legislation making gun safes tax-exempt. It is easier than ever for gun owners to securely store their firearms; and with that security comes peace of mind, knowing that secure storage will prevent at-risk youth or irresponsible individuals from accessing their firearms. We will never know which child’s life is saved because they could not open a tax-free gun safe.”

The measure making gun safes tax-exempt passed in the Senate’s omnibus tax bill (HF 1938) on May 21. The Senate also passed two gun violence prevention provisions this session, which establish extreme risk protection orders and expand background checks on gun sales or trades (SF 2909).

The members of the Senate St. Paul delegation are Senator Erin Murphy (64), Senator Sandy Pappas (65), Senator Clare Oumou-Verbeten (66), and Senator Foung Hawj (67).


Senator Sandy Pappas
Sandy Pappas represents District 65, which includes portions of Saint Paul in Ramsey County in the Twin Cities metropolitan area.

Learn more about Sen. Pappas.

Read more news from Sen. Pappas.
Senator Sandy Pappas on EmailSenator Sandy Pappas on FacebookSenator Sandy Pappas on FlickrSenator Sandy Pappas on Twitter
Erin Murphy represents Senate District 64, which includes portions of the Saint Paul community.

Learn more about Sen. Murphy.

Read more news from Sen. Murphy.
Assistant Leader Senate District 66
Senator Clare Oumou Verbeten represents Senate District 66 which includes Falcon Height, Lauderdale, Roseville, and St. Paul. She is vice chair of the Judiciary and Public Safety Committee, and serves on the Education Finance Committee, Higher Education Committee, and the Labor Committee.

Learn more about Sen. Oumou Verbeten.
Senator Clare Oumou Verbeten on EmailSenator Clare Oumou Verbeten on Twitter
Senator Foung Hawj
Assistant Leader Senate District 67
Foung Hawj represents District 67, which includes the east side of Saint Paul in Ramsey County in the central Twin Cities metropolitan area.

Learn more about Sen. Hawj.

Read more news from Sen. Hawj.
Senator Foung Hawj on EmailSenator Foung Hawj on FacebookSenator Foung Hawj on Flickr