Senator David Tomassoni elected President of the Minnesota Senate

ST. PAUL, MN – Today, the Minnesota Senate convened the 2020 Sixth Special Session. To open the session, the Senate elected Senator David Tomassoni (DFL-Chisholm) as the Minnesota Senate President, making him the first member of the minority party to be president. Senator Tomassoni released the following statement:

“I’m honored to have been chosen by my colleagues to be the President of the Senate. I think it reflects the body of my work in the Legislature over the past 28 years, where I have a reputation for working with all sides to advance the common good for our state,” said Senator Tomassoni. “I’m really proud to have bipartisan support from Republicans and Democrats for this position. This reflects the will of the Senate to work together as Minnesota faces a multi-billion dollar budget problem, the COVID-19 health crisis, and the economic crisis faced by many small businesses, bars, restaurants, and families as a result of the pandemic.

After a tough election cycle, we need to bring people together rather than form battle lines. I thank my colleagues for their support, and I will strive to be fair and a good listener in the Office of the President of the Senate, and to promote the public dialogue in a civil manner.”

Senator David Tomassoni
David Tomassoni represents District 6, which includes portions of Itasca and St. Louis counties in the northeastern part of the state.

Read more news from Sen. Tomassoni.
Senator David Tomassoni on EmailSenator David Tomassoni on Flickr