Senator Judy Seeberger’s Bill to Aid and Strengthen Minnesota’s Emergency Medical Services Passes Senate

S.T. PAUL, Minn. — On Saturday, May 18th, the Minnesota Senate Passed House File 4738 – legislation authored by Senator Judy Seeberger (DFL-Afton). The bill contains a comprehensive approach to reinforcing and revitalizing emergency medical services in the state, particularly in Greater Minnesota.

The major items in HF 4738 are as follows:

  • Creates Minnesota’s new Office of Emergency Medical Services to replace the Emergency Medical Services Regulatory Board
  • Allocates $6 million in funding for a “Sprint Medic” Pilot Program in Otter Tail County and St. Louis County
  • Appropriates an additional $24 million in one-time aid for EMS providers in the state who have been struggling financially
  • Allows for easier, more streamlined recertification for some EMS personnel

After the bill’s passage in the Senate, Senator Seeberger released the following statement:

“This bill is a big first step in addressing the challenges that our rural EMS providers are facing. Our new Office of Emergency Medical Services will be more publicly accountable, incorporate the important voices of our frontline EMS personnel into decision making, and create a strong foundation for tackling the problems Minnesota’s EMS providers are facing. Additionally, the Sprint Medic Pilot Program will reduce ambulance response times and give us valuable data to ensure that EMS services are sustainable and reliable in Greater Minnesota.

“I want to thank Senators Grant Hauschild, Jordan Rasmusson and Andrew Lang for their input on the Emergency Medical Services Task Force, and their commitment to good bipartisan work for the people of Minnesota. I also want to thank all of the hardworking first responders and EMS personnel who shared their experiences and ideas during the Task Force’s field meetings.”

The bill passed unanimously in the Senate, 66-0. It will now be sent back to the House for their approval in the coming days.

Senator Judy Seeberger represents Senate District 41 which includes Afton, Cottage Grove, Hastings, and Lake Elmo. She is vice chair of the Commerce and Consumer Protection Committee, and serves on the Agriculture, Broadband, and Rural Development Committee as well as the Judiciary and Public Safety Committee.

Learn more about Sen. Seeberger.
Senator Judy Seeberger on EmailSenator Judy Seeberger on Twitter