Senator Judy Seeberger’s Emergency Medical Services Legislation and Aid Package Signed Into Law

Governor Tim Walz, Senator Grant Hauschild and Others Joined Senator Seeberger in Hoyt Lakes for the Bill Signing Ceremony

HOYT LAKES, Minn. — On Thursday, May 23rd, House File 4738 – legislation authored by Senator Judy Seeberger (DFL-Afton) – was signed into law by Governor Tim Walz. The bill contains $24 million in aid to emergency medical service providers around the state, and a $6 million appropriation for a “Sprint Medic” Pilot Program in Otter Tail County and Saint Louis County.

Additionally, the bill creates a new, more publicly accountable Office of Emergency Medical Services to replace Minnesota’s current Emergency Medical Services Regulatory Board (EMSRB) and allows for easier recertification for some EMS personnel in Minnesota.

After Governor Walz approved the legislation, Senator Seeberger released the following statement:

“This past year, the Emergency Medical Services Task Force heard hundreds of stories and experiences from Minnesota’s hardworking EMS personnel and professionals. Several things were very clear in our findings. First, EMS providers in our state, particularly in Greater Minnesota, have been strained financially and have struggled to maintain adequate staffing, leading to longer wait times for ambulance services and workforce burnout. Second, the Emergency Medical Services Regulator Board has been ineffective at addressing these problems and supporting Minnesota’s EMS providers and professionals.”

“Thanks to Senator Grant Hauschild’s $24 million targeted aid package, we can mitigate these problems in the short term for providers who are struggling the most. Our new “Sprint Medic” Pilot Program will reduce ambulance wait times in parts of Greater Minnesota, help improve EMS sustainability, and provide us with valuable data for other innovative solutions. The creation of a more publicly accountable Office of Emergency Medical Services in Minnesota will lay the groundwork for solving these problems in the long term and elevate the voices of our frontline EMS professionals.”

“As a paramedic, I take these issues incredibly seriously, and I am thankful for the bipartisan collaboration that went into this legislation. Though there is still much more work to do, I am confident that these first steps will lay a sturdy foundation for ensuring that Minnesotans get the reliable emergency medical services that they deserve, regardless of their zip code.”

Now that House File 4738 is law, the responsibilities of the Emergency Medical Services Regulatory Board will shift to the state’s new Office of EMS on January 1, 2025. Under the new statute, the $24 million in one-time EMS provider aid will be certified and allocated to eligible providers by December 26, 2024. 

Pictures of the ceremony can be found attached.

Senator Judy Seeberger represents Senate District 41 which includes Afton, Cottage Grove, Hastings, and Lake Elmo. She is vice chair of the Commerce and Consumer Protection Committee, and serves on the Agriculture, Broadband, and Rural Development Committee as well as the Judiciary and Public Safety Committee.

Learn more about Sen. Seeberger.
Senator Judy Seeberger on EmailSenator Judy Seeberger on Twitter