Senator Kari Dziedzic Elected to Lead New Senate DFL Majority

ST. PAUL, Minn. – Today, the new Senate DFL majority elected Senator Kari Dziedzic (Minneapolis) to lead the Caucus when the Legislature returns to the Capitol in January, 2023. 

The Caucus also elected Sen. Bobby Joe Champion (Minneapolis) as President, Sen. John Marty (Roseville) as Finance Chair, and Sen. Ann Rest (New Hope) as Tax Chair. Assistant leaders will be announced soon. 

Thursday’s election of the new leaders took place just two days after Minnesotans voted to make the DFL the majority party in the State Senate. The new leaders said voters chose a Senate DFL majority and the new majority is ready to lead and will work with Governor Tim Walz and the House DFL majority to get things done for Minnesota.

“I’m honored to have earned the trust of my colleagues in the DFL caucus to serve as majority leader,” said Sen. Dziedzic. “I’m also grateful to the people of Minnesota for delivering a DFL majority and we plan to use that majority to lead on behalf of Minnesotans in every corner of our state. Together with our colleagues in the House DFL majority and Governor Walz, we will now get to work to deliver an agenda that moves Minnesota forward.” 

Sen. Dziedzic said the incoming Senate DFL Majority is the most diverse Senate caucus in Minnesota history, including the youngest woman member elected, the first Muslim woman elected, the first Black women elected, and the the first majority-woman Caucus. She said the caucus gained three new Senators from Greater Minnesota, advancing our goal of increasing representation throughout greater and rural Minnesota. 

In addition to the new leaders, the new majority caucus includes Senators Liz Boldon (Rochester), Jim Carlson (Eagan), Steve Cwodzinski (Eden Prairie), Scott Dibble (Minneapolis), Omar Fateh (Minneapolis), Nick Frentz (Mankato), Heather Gustafson (Vadnais Heights), Grant Hauschild (Hermantown), Foung Hawj (St. Paul), John Hoffman (Champlin), Matt Klein (Mendota Heights), Mary Kunesh (New Brighton), Rob Kupec (Moorhead), Ron Latz (St. Louis Park), Alice Mann (Edina), Erin Maye Quade (Apple Valley), Jen McEwen (Duluth), Nicole Mitchell (Woodbury), Zaynab Mohamed (Minneapolis), Kelly Morrison (Deephaven), Erin Murphy (St. Paul), Clare Oumou Verbeten (St. Paul), Sandy Pappas (St. Paul), Susan Pha (Brooklyn Park), Lindsey Port (Burnsville), Aric Putnam (St. Cloud), Judy Seeberger (Afton), Bonnie Westlin (Plymouth), Melissa Wiklund (Bloomington), Tou Xiong (Maplewood)


Senator Kari Dziedzic
Kari Dziedzic represents District 60, which includes Seward, Cedar Riverside, Southeast and Northeast Minneapolis.

Learn more about Sen. Dziedzic.

Read more news from Sen. Dziedzic.
Senator Kari Dziedzic on EmailSenator Kari Dziedzic on FacebookSenator Kari Dziedzic on FlickrSenator Kari Dziedzic on Twitter
Senator John Marty
John Marty represents Roseville, Shoreview, Arden Hills, Mounds View and New Brighton.

Learn more about Sen. Marty.

Read more news from Sen. Marty.
Senator John Marty on EmailSenator John Marty on FacebookSenator John Marty on FlickrSenator John Marty on Twitter
Ann Rest represents District 43, which includes portions of the western suburbs of Hennepin County in the Twin Cities metro area.

Learn more about Sen. Rest.

Read more news from Sen. Rest.
Senator Ann Rest on EmailSenator Ann Rest on FacebookSenator Ann Rest on FlickrSenator Ann Rest on Twitter
Senator Bobby Joe Champion
Senate President Senate District 59
Bobby Joe Champion represents District 59, which includes portions of downtown and north Minneapolis in Hennepin County. He is also an attorney.

Learn more about Sen. Champion.

Read more news from Sen. Champion.
Senator Bobby Joe Champion on EmailSenator Bobby Joe Champion on FacebookSenator Bobby Joe Champion on FlickrSenator Bobby Joe Champion on InstagramSenator Bobby Joe Champion on TwitterSenator Bobby Joe Champion on Youtube