Senator Nick Frentz receives the MSSWA Legislator of the Year award

The Minnesota School Social Workers Association (MSSWA) has named Assistant DFL Leader, Senator Nick Frentz (DFL-North Mankato), its 2021 Legislator of the Year award alongside Representative Cheryl Youakim. Since 2003, MSSWA has honored legislators for their work with school social workers and student support services. Past recipients have included Senator Paul Wellstone, Governor Mark Dayton, Senator Scott Dibble, and Senator Chuck Wiger.

“I’d like to thank the MSSWA for their hard work over the last year and a half in advocating for increased funding for student support services amid a global pandemic,” said Sen. Frentz. “Now more than ever our specialized instructional support personnel like social workers, psychologists, school nurses, and counselors are needed to help students across Minnesota navigate through this difficult time due to COVID-19. It’s critical to meet the social, emotional, physical, and academic needs of all our students.”

Senator Nick Frentz
Nick Frentz represents Senate District 18, which includes portions of Blue Earth, Le Sueur, and Nicollet counties in the south central part of the state.

Learn more about Sen. Frentz.

Read more news from Sen. Frentz.
Senator Nick Frentz on FacebookSenator Nick Frentz on Flickr