Senator Rest elected President of the Streamline Sales Tax Governing Board

Senator Ann Rest (DFL-New Hope), the Senate DFL lead on the Taxes Committee, has been elected President of the Streamlined Sales Tax Governing Board. She will take office on January 21, 2021.

“I have been a member of the executive committee, and it’s my honor to serve in this new position,” said Sen. Rest. “In 2001, I authored the original legislation that authorized Minnesota to join the interstate agreement to level the playing field for main street retailers with remote sellers located outside our state.” 

Twenty-four states have joined the agreement representing 31 percent of the population. 

“Senator Rest has worked diligently over the years to ensure Minnesota’s sales tax system is up-to-date, simplified, and fair,” said Senate DFL Leader Susan Kent (DFL-Woodbury). “I fully support and congratulate Senator Rest on her election as the president of the Streamlined Sales Tax Governing Board. Her new leadership role comes as no surprise. She is amply experienced in tax policy and an effective leader that will serve the board well.”

Minnesota and other sales tax states were previously bound by a U.S. Supreme Court decision that held a state may not require a seller that does not have a physical presence in the state to collect tax on sales into the state. That decision was overturned in 2018 and now Minnesota collects sales tax on all retail sales.

Senator Ann Rest
Ann Rest represents District 43, which includes portions of the western suburbs of Hennepin County in the Twin Cities metro area.

Learn more about Sen. Rest.

Read more news from Sen. Rest.
Senator Ann Rest on EmailSenator Ann Rest on FacebookSenator Ann Rest on FlickrSenator Ann Rest on Twitter