Senator Seeberger and Representative Huot Statements on Progress of Emergency Medical Services Task Force

ST. PAUL, Minn. — Today, the Emergency Medical Services Task Force concluded their final meeting. After several field hearings across the state – taking testimony from members of the public, local elected officials, EMS personnel, and other community advocates – the task force summarized their findings and previewed some recommendations which could come before the legislature this session.

Senate Co-Chair of the Task Force, Senator Judy Seeberger (DFL-Afton), released this statement following the conclusion of Friday’s meeting:

“I want to express my gratitude to all of the hardworking Minnesotans that took time out of their busy lives to offer their thoughts and experiences during our field hearings. I also want to thank my fellow members for their earnest commitment to this important work. Supporting our state’s first responders has always been a top priority for me, and as a paramedic, I am encouraged by the bipartisanship and urgency of this task force. I look forward to working collaboratively towards solutions that bolster Minnesota’s EMS workforce and ensure sustainable coverage for every corner of the state.”

House Co-Chair of the Task Force, Representative John Huot (DFL-Rosemount) released the following statement:

“This is a critical first step we’re taking to address EMS shortages and other significant challenges preventing rural Minnesotans from accessing lifesaving care they need in a time of crisis. Minnesotans showed up and shared their input and ideas about what could work best in their communities, and I’ll look at their stories as we develop legislation to improve EMS delivery. ” 

More information and past recordings of the EMS Task Force meetings can be found HERE.


Senator Judy Seeberger represents Senate District 41 which includes Afton, Cottage Grove, Hastings, and Lake Elmo. She is vice chair of the Commerce and Consumer Protection Committee, and serves on the Agriculture, Broadband, and Rural Development Committee as well as the Judiciary and Public Safety Committee.

Learn more about Sen. Seeberger.
Senator Judy Seeberger on EmailSenator Judy Seeberger on Twitter