Senators Karla Bigham and Kent Eken named Senate DFL Whips for 2022 Legislative Session

Senator Karla Bigham (DFL – Cottage Grove) and Senator Kent Eken (DFL – Audubon) were appointed as the Senate DFL caucus Minority Whips for the 2022 legislative session. Following the announcement of their appointments, the two Senators released the following statement:

“I am thankful for the leadership of Senator López Franzen and I am grateful for the trust she has placed in me to serve as a caucus whip,” said Senator Karla Bigham. “I look forward to using this position as an opportunity to unite the caucus around the important issues that we must take action on over the coming legislative session.”

Senator Karla Bigham was elected to the Minnesota Senate in February of 2018. She is the ranking DFL member on the Civil Law and Data Practices Committee and also serves on the Judiciary and Public Safety Finance and Policy Committee as well as the Local Government Policy Committee. Senator Bigham holds a Master of Public Affairs from the University of Minnesota and a Bachelor of Science degree from Winona State University. She lives in Cottage Grove.

“I am thankful for the continued opportunity to serve the Senate DFL Caucus in this leadership role. I’ll continue to use my seat at the table to advocate for the issues impacting Greater Minnesota,” said Senator Kent Eken.  “As a lifelong resident of Western Minnesota, I understand the unique challenges our rural communities face. I look forward to bringing this experience as I work with my colleagues this legislative session.” 

Senator Kent Eken represents Clay, Norman, and portions of Becker counties. A former educator and farmer, Senator Eken was first elected to the Senate in 2012 and is recognized as a leading voice on rural issues for the Senate DFL Caucus. He serves as Ranking Member of the Aging and Long-Term Care Policy Committee and is a member of the Agriculture and Rural Development Finance and Policy committee. 

Karla Bigham represents District 54 in the southeast Twin Cities metro, including parts of Dakota and Washington counties.

Learn more about Sen. Bigham.

Read more news from Sen. Bigham.
Senator Karla Bigham on EmailSenator Karla Bigham on FlickrSenator Karla Bigham on Twitter
Senator Kent Eken
Kent Eken represents District 4, which includes portions of Becker, Clay, and Norman counties in the northwestern part of the state.

Learn more about Sen. Eken.

Read more news from Sen. Eken.
Senator Kent Eken on EmailSenator Kent Eken on FacebookSenator Kent Eken on FlickrSenator Kent Eken on Twitter