Sen. Westlin

Senate Majority Leader Kari Dziedzic Says Two More Bipartisan Measures Pass Senate Wednesday

Senator Nicole Mitchell’s Veterans Justice Bill and Senator Bonnie Westlin’s Bill Governing Electronic Wills Both Approved Unanimously 

SAINT PAUL, Minn. – Senate Majority Leader Kari Dziedzic (DFL-Minneapolis) said today the Senate passed two more bipartisan bills; one to help veterans involved in the justice system, and another to help Minnesotans who prepare electronic wills.

Senator Bonnie Westlin Ushers Bill to Increase Funding for Schools Via Local Levy Adjustment through Education Finance Committee

ST. PAUL, Minn. — On Tuesday, the Education Finance Committee heard testimony on a bill to increase flexibility for school boards to raise necessary revenue for their schools and make funding options fairer for school districts in low property-wealth areas (SF 866). Chief author Senator Bonnie Westlin (DFL-Plymouth) testified in support of the bill alongside superintendents from Greater Minnesota and Metro schools and a high school student.

Senator Bonnie Westlin Hails PRO Act Passage as Victory for Reproductive Freedoms

ST. PAUL, Minn. – On Jan. 28, after 15 hours of debate, the Minnesota Senate passed SF 1, also known as the PRO Act, to enshrine Minnesotans’ right to reproductive healthcare in state law. The bill is chief authored by Senator Jennifer McEwan (DFL-Duluth) and co-authored by Senator Kari Dziedzic (DFL-Minneapolis), Senator Erin Maye Quade (DFL-Apple Valley), Senator Kelly Morrison (DFL-Deephaven), and Senator Lindsey Port (DFL-Burnsville).

Senator Bonnie Westlin Speaks Out Ahead of Special Education Funding Hearing

ST. PAUL, Minn. – On Tuesday, Education Finance Committee member Senator Bonnie Westlin (DFL-Plymouth) spoke on the DFL’s legislative priorities for education this session, alongside Senator Mary Kunesh, chair of the Education Finance Committee; Senator Steve Cwodzinski, chair of the Education Policy Committee; and several of their DFL colleagues from both committees: Senators Alice Mann, Clare Oumou Verbeten, and Heather Gustafson.