Wiklund, Marty and Little respond to passage of the Alec Smith Insulin Affordability Act

Saint Paul, Minn. – Today, the Minnesota Legislature passed HF 3100, the Alec Smith Insulin Affordability Act. This bill requires manufacturers to provide insulin at no cost to individuals or pharmacies for emergency access and has increased penalties on those manufacturers who fail to comply. 

In response to the passage of HF 3100, Senators Melissa Halvorson Wiklund (DFL-Bloomington), John Marty (DFL-Roseville) and Matt Little (DFL-Lakeville) released the following statement:

“Today is a monumental day for Minnesota. Advocates living with diabetes have worked tirelessly to pass an emergency insulin access program that provides a safety net for those Minnesotans who cannot afford their life-saving drug. The passage of the Alec Smith Insulin Affordability Act is long overdue, but we are pleased that Senate Republicans finally joined us in agreeing to make pharmaceutical companies pay for the problem they created. 

Let us be clear: this program is a step in the right direction, but it does not solve the issue of affordability caused by big pharma’s price gouging. We will continue to work on making life-saving drugs affordable and accessible for all Minnesotans, and that starts by holding big pharma accountable for their unacceptably high costs. 

No one should have ever been in a situation where they could not afford life-saving medication. This program will provide real help to thousands of Minnesotans, but we know there is more to be done. While our work continues, we thank the many Insulin4All advocates across the state who continued to make their voices heard and pushed the legislature towards progress. This is just the start.”

The bill will now head to Governor Walz’s desk to be signed into law. The language of the bill can be found here

Senator Melissa Wiklund
Melissa Wiklund represents District 50, which includes portions of Bloomington and Richfield in the southern Twin Cities metropolitan area.

Learn more about Sen. Wiklund.

Read more news from Sen. Wiklund.
Senator Melissa Wiklund on EmailSenator Melissa Wiklund on FacebookSenator Melissa Wiklund on FlickrSenator Melissa Wiklund on Twitter
Senator John Marty
John Marty represents Roseville, Lauderdale, Falcon Heights and northern St. Paul.

Learn more about Sen. Marty.

Read more news from Sen. Marty.
Senator John Marty on EmailSenator John Marty on FacebookSenator John Marty on FlickrSenator John Marty on Twitter
Matt Little represents Senate District 58, which covers Lakeville, Farmington, a small slice of Northfield and more than a dozen townships and small communities including Empire, Vermillion, New Trier and Douglas.

Learn more about Sen. Little.

Read more news from Sen. Little.
Senator Matt Little on EmailSenator Matt Little on FacebookSenator Matt Little on FlickrSenator Matt Little on Twitter